2013 US Skating Nationals

Michelle Kwan Wedding pictures.

Here is what Jenny Kirk thinks.

 

 

Gracie Gold is a great jumping skater but her lack of presentation makes Tara Lipinski look like an artist. I don’t have the time or patience to go through every move she made on the ice and see if she received and deserved her points so I won’t say she deserved the gold medal over Ashley but I found myself bored to tears watching her throw her arms around and move from side to side throwing jumps. That isn’t skating. Actually it is these days but that doesn’t mean I want to watch it.

 

Aunt Joyce called Ashley the best from the rest on a good day . He says if she was skating against the Kwan’s, Cohen’s, Bobek’s and Lipinski’s ? she would always be 4th and even though Ashley annoys the hell out of me I find this line of reasoning ridiculous.  Kwan is well Kwan but the other three are like the skaters he is friends with and his reasoning is so blatantly biased its hard to take him seriously as an opinion.

For years the judges at Nationals tried to hand titles to every baby ballerina that came out of the woodwork just so they could get rid of Michelle Kwan and that used to drive me nuts. Now they are doing the opposite, holding up skaters with the best chance of getting the US three spots for the Olympics next year.

 

I have great respect for Jenny and her opinion because I never get the impression she is biased. She gets pretty excited about this sport she still obviously loves.

 

So what did you think of Nationals last night? Did you watch?

 

My impression was as followed. Christina Gao should have been on the podium. She had the jumps last night and had the one performance last night that actually made me smile.

 

Ashley was overscored but Gracie was too. I didn’t really have a problem with the results even when Ashley fell twice because I found Gracie so unwatchable. I think Agnes was held up most of anyone.

 

 

Tags:

21 Responses to “2013 US Skating Nationals”

  1. gingercrush Says:

    US figure skating is ewww and I was never a fan of Kwan. I liked Lipinski better ^^

    Anyway my love for figure skating has gone completely downwards since Vancouver. I’m far more excited about gymnastics. The programs just go on and on and considering I can barely watch a beam or floor routine. A short and long programs become increasingly difficult to watch.

    I did not watch it but really feel for Negasu who had a shocker of a long program. Gracie Gold is like Tweddle performing a floor routine. Yuck. Ashley Wagner is grossly overrated and is a bit like Gabby Douglas. Something really unlikeable about them.

    My favourite skater is Mao Asada. Sadly her jumps just get worse and worse even when her elements if anything get better.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You lose all clout being a Terror fan.lol

      I agree with you about skating. I liked Christina Gao last night but everyone else was blah.

    • Gymnerd Says:

      Agree about Gao. Girl got hosed.

      Ashley strikes me as something of a cocky bitch, but she doesn’t annoy me on the same level as Gabby….yet.

  2. David Says:

    Is Mirai Nagasu competing?

    • Gymnerd Says:

      Nagasu showed up and skated sick (flu), but was relegated to seventh place by the judges. Apparently she was the only skater in the field with underrotation issues.

  3. JAS4 Says:

    Kwan just needs to come out of retirement and win all gold medals and solve the problem lol :)

  4. natty Says:

    anyone else put off by gracies seemingly open mouth most of her lp? the mouth hanging open with kinda dead eyes…no smile mostly…just creepy! Hicks is bright and bubbly, interacting with the audience, and seems to be having fun.
    Wagner laughed right in the face of gao-who else saw that?

    • Gymnerd Says:

      When was this laughing in the face incident? LP? K & C? Spill, please.

      • natty Says:

        at the end of the LP, when gao walked by wagner, looking really upset at her 7th place finish..when she walked by wagner, she was staring at gao and laughing right at her…gao was practically sobbing, and wager was laughing with glee, like, HA HA!!
        whew! so un-lady like!
        gee, such pretty little girls in such pretty little dresses…they’re not fiercely competitive athletes, are they? LOL!
        did you ever beat any one and openly laugh at them?
        I remember beating my rival before…but I didnt rub it in like that..did any of you?

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    As far as I’m concerned US figure skating is dead. When the “winner” falls twice in the SP and still gets gold…much less, second place being someone who fell all over the place in SP and singled an axle…yeah, g’luck in the Olympics, yo. We’re screwed.

    Funny thing is back in the 90′s when I was obsessed with figure skating, if someone fell I usually fast-forwarded through the rest of their program with the assumption they would be miles away from podium, which typically happened. Wow, has the sport ever changed.

    I just watched certain YouTube performances. Totally. Not. Impressed. With anyone. It really just depressed me to see how far down the cliff US has fallen. Call me Dick Button but there’s no “true” heartfelt extension, the split jumps aren’t even full splits, no musicality. Just going through the movements. Even Scott Hamilton mentioned something about a checklist – and he’s right. That’s how all of these skaters skate. As if they are running through a checklist and making sure all marks are made, but not paying any attention to overall presentation. Just truly disappointing.

    I can see why everyone’s excited about Gracie – she’s very pretty and there’s something about her that could be a star – but I’m going to say she’s the next Cohen without any presentation skills. If the only time she can skate clean is when pressure is “off” by being placed ninth after the SP, something is really wrong. If she’s hitting everything in practice and then goes out to compete and falls first thing, she doesn’t have what it takes mentally – and that’s at least 50% of the sport.

    What was so amazing about Michelle Kwan (and some others from the past, but I don’t need to make a list and clean the cobwebs out of my brain – that list surely does not include Bobek, Cohen, or flash-in-the-pan Lipinski you can be sure of that) was that she rarely fell. Ever. She was just so darned consistent. Even so, her falls weren’t like catastrophic where you landed flat on your ass so that the whole performance was off. Anyway, Kwan ALWAYS delivered. True competitor. Not only that but she made you “feel” what she was skating even if you weren’t in the arena. She gave me goosebumps. Literally. I fear I’ll never see that again.

    Are there any female skaters in the world currently who are/were like Kwan? If so I’d be super excited to know. I haven’t watched the sport in a long time but suffice it to say I doubt next year in Socchi we will see anything impressive from the US. Our dominance in women’s figure skating is completely over.

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    I just left a rant on here but not sure it ever showed up. Weird. I can’t write all that again.

    Basically my point is that US figure skating is dead.

    • Kazic Says:

      Last night was a travesty. I can’t even begin to tell you guys how done I am. US Figure Skating is a shell of it’s former glory. Ashley was handed that title.

      I love Christina Gao and Mirai Nagasu and I am hoping that they can come back and do better. Wagner and Gold don’t excite me. No one does the way Kwan did, but then she’s Kwan.

      The Verdict: Michelle needs to have like 16 kids so that she can single-handedly provide the solution to the trainwreck that is our current program.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        We need to go back to the 6.0 and have Michelle un-retire. She’s had enough rest.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        If all it took were triples and a double axle (not triple-triple combos and such) Michelle could seriously come out of retirement and dominate. Sadly, this is not the case anymore and artistry is set aside for stupid-looking jumps. There’s no musicality in that sport anymore. All of the women skating just looked like they were going through the motions, putting checks next to the boxes so to speak.

        I still think Michelle’s SP at the Nagano games was the best piece of figure skating I’ll ever see, ever. I can even recall the music and some of her movements to it. So unique – nothing like that has ever happened since.

      • Kazic Says:

        We should start a kickstarter to raise money to bribe her to come back.

        Last night was particularly hilarious because the new scoring system was supposed to prevent what happened last night. The judges picked the winner they wanted, and Wagner will not medal at worlds. Will. Not. Happen. They don’t have to bring back the 6.0 but this needs to be scrapped. You need a spreadsheet to decipher this crap, and then they do whatever they want with the scores anyway.

        So mad. ;_;

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gold won’t medal either. She is horrible besides the jumps.

        The US fixed this and sent who they wanted. I am sick of seeing Agnes Z************ at these competitions. She never stands up her short and long.

    • Kazic Says:

      I personally don’t understand the fascination with Wagner or gold. Gao and Nagasu were majorly underscored. I just can’t seem to wrap my head around Ashley Wagner falling all over the rink and then being crowned national champion. Once upon a time, that actually meant something. Ugh. Ugh. Ugh.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Part of me wonders if it’s just the media fishing (or USA figure skating) for their new “golden girl” – literally being the white/blonde/princess. Figure skating is already dominated by Asians I guess so they want a pretty princess to come along and represent USA. Like Nicole Bobek only that was so long ago.

        I remember watching Mirai Nagasu and hoping she’d be a major threat come next Olympics. She had that spark. The other girls kind of have that whole “dead face” thing going on.

        USA figure skating is a shadow of what it once was. I remember I used to fast forward through a routine after a chick fell because that meant they would be like nearly last place and it didn’t matter. It used to be so much more consistent; where two-footing or doubling a jump that was meant to be a triple was such a big deal because that was a “huge” mistake. Now, to see someone able to fall three times or make three MAJOR errors and still come out on top – that’s just baffling to me.

  7. lol Says:

    I heard Tara Lipinski fans exist but I never met one before. I hated how Bobek and Lipinski treated Kwan in 98. Bitches. If Kwans was a jerk I could see it but the way they acted at Nationals was obnoxious. If you need any more proof God doesn’t exist Lipinski wiining Gold at the Olympics proves the devil is in charge. Lol

  8. natty Says:

    If Gracie could only learn to “ooooze” across the ice like Kwan, and look like shes full of real joy for being out there!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

