Catalina Ponor is nuts

 

and this is pretty impressive. I think she would have had this if she did it out of the pit.

A new article with quotes from Aly on why she went to Newtown.

Gold medal gymnast Aly Raisman visited the centre and a local gymnastics school, where one little girl told her it was the best day of her life.

“A lot of the kids who died were young gymnasts, so I felt like I had connection to them,” Raisman said. “It was such an easy thing to do to go and hang out with them. It made me feel really good to do something for them.”

Read more: http://www.calgaryherald.com/news/Athletes+from+across+world+make+Newtown+children+smile+once/7811840/story.html#ixzz2Hu6VCkXJ

78 Responses to “Catalina Ponor is nuts”

  1. Case Says:

    Just saw this on twitter. Amazing if she can stand it up consistently but I’m not sure she can get it around.

    I like seeing gymnasts try new things.

    • natty Says:

      ha anyone ever done this successfully in competition, and is it named after anyne?

      • natty Says:

        oops, sorry for spelling:
        Has anyone done this dismount off of beam in competition, and is it named after any gymnast?

  2. gingercrush Says:

    Apparently the dismount attempt was done last year but it would be wicked if she could go to 2013 worlds and nail the dismount and leave a Ponor as a legacy.

    I love Ponor but she is so frustrating. I always get the sense she could have done so much more on both floor and beam.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It’s a crazy dismount. I guess the start value of the move my counter any deductions but she could kill herself doing that.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yes, that looks really scary to me. Maybe if she has some way to bail out of it if she realises she can’t get it around. Still cool though. Kudos for trying!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I’m glad they at least gifted us with some video footage. Funny though the spot she was given wasn’t much different from the spot Nastia was given from her dad off her bars dismount – and Nastia still went ahead and (failed) attempted it in competition (despite the fact that the bar height gave her more of a gravity advantage over the beam podium in Ponor’s case).

  3. Catherine Says:

    Yes apparently its from last year, doesn’t really matter as its still incredible either way. There were rumours Armine Barutyan trained this which people defend very staunchly…but just rumours.

    it might inspire someone else to try it out, I think there are a very few who may be able to. Maybe. With that and McKayla Skinners laidout double double and the possibility of Murakami throwing one of the crazy moves she trains, like the quad on beam or triple twisting double layout oh and Jordan Chiles front triple full punchfront…it could be an awesome quad.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      I thought I read somewhere that a double layout was banned from the beam (something about safety). I’m I smoking crack? Anyone else read/hear that?

      There is something about Ponor that I love. I’m not sure what it is, but I have mad respect for the woman. If she could actually compete the skill that would be awesome.

      Does anyone know if she’s sticking around at all this year?

      • Catherine Says:

        Nope, the only things that are banned are sideways entry vaults, standing or sitting on the high bar and roll out skills for women.

        Its pretty much a given that she is retired, she submitted her paperwork for it. Doesn’t mean she didn’t mess around in the gym, I didn’t question the age of the video because of how in shape she is and the gala routine she performed recently which was awesome.

      • mim Says:

        her whole attitude is fantastic. i still laugh at the bitchface she gave nastia in beam finals at one of the worlds (2005?).. she didn’t even try to hide her distaste, cracks me up (even though i (gasp!) enjoyed nastia’s beam routine).

        ive read she hasnt ruled out trying for rio. that was just before christmas though.

  4. Biyatch Says:

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That dress is cute but the color is a disgrace. She will do anything to stand out

      • Biyatch Says:

        Def a little neon. I think the poof in Gabby’s hair adds like 3 inches. Said it before and ill say it again, not a fan of the bangs.

      • mim Says:

        i like gabby’s dress, especially the colour. aly looks GORGEOUS, more like a woman than a kid now.

      • mim Says:

        wait – i just noticed the tassels on aly’s dress. TASSELS. oh man.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Agreed…the color is awful. I like Aly’s dress, minus the weird ass tassels. WTH is that about?? It looks like she ripped them off a dream catcher and sewed them on.

        And Gabby’s wig…bla.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        HATE the bangs. The way her hair is styled makes Gabby’s face almost disappear so she’s all “head.” I think Gabby’s dress is great but the color a bit much. If it were toned down more – I’m just not a fan of neon green though. I also don’t understand the tassels – they remind me of an antique couch.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        Agree. One of the better dresses she has worn — quite flattering really — but the color is not my cup of tea. Definitely looks like a wig. Your statement that the wig makes her look “all head” is dead on Sanity! LOL

        Agree on the tassel too. I keep thinking that something is supposed to happen if you yank it, like the dress lighting up or something.

    • Catherine Says:

      Aly looks stunning, great styling. Gabby looks like she chose the worst dress and bag as a joke, horrendous. Her hair could be very nice as it is, but her fringe is coming from too far back and is very flat, hence looking like has the most ginormous forehead of all time. The curls look a bit rushed and not glossy or anything. Needs whoever styled Aly..Badgeley Mischka and Pandora helped anyway.

      • GymMom Says:

        Gabby usually wears sewn-in hair extensions, but that looks like a wig? It really looks bad!

      • Gymbee Says:

        I think it looks like a wig too. But I’m no expert! :)

        I like how Aly looks, very elegant. Minus the tassels. Reminds me of those fancy things people get for their curtains.

        I like Aly’s Pandora advert. She looks very classic.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Told ya’ll it was a wig in that other picture…. dude she needs a wig stylist asap…. call Wendy WIlliams….. find one of her people….gag… and puke… love to see her competing at the olympics in gymnastics in a wig like that….

  5. gingercrush Says:

    Gonna go against the grain and say that dress looks lovely on Douglas.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Not against the grain unless you count color. Thought the dress was cute, the color is gross and obviously done so she would get attention

      • GymMom Says:

        Gabby can’t stop wearing gold/yellow hued dresses, which make me ill! She wants everyone to remember her gold medal, I guess? E Channel didn’t show them on the red carpet for the Golden Globes….old news HOPEFULLY in Gabby’s case! I love Aly though.

      • Guest Says:

        Because they just attended the viewing and after party held by NBCUniversal. They did not appear in he main event.

      • Guest Says:

        Some athletes like Missy Franklin, Natalie Coughlin were also on the event by NBCUniversal.

    • Case Says:

      I like that dress quite a bit, just not the gymnast wearing.

      Aly looks great. A professional stylist is all she needed!

  6. GymMom Says:

    Interesting comments about the wig Gabby wore to Golden Globes Watch Party…all negative!

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mobileweb/2013/01/13/gabby-douglas-hair-golden-globes_n_2469347.html

  7. uglyfatkid Says:

    I love that Aly did this. I have always had a lot of respect for celebs that give back in various ways. I always felt that Aly is a good person…but it’s nice when she continues to prove it. :)

  8. Gymbee Says:

    OT, but Shawn tweeted something about a new job.

    “Back to reality! Work time! Who wants to join me…. Bootcamp #fitness #newyearsresolution and getting ready for a new job ;)”

    • JAS4 Says:

      Wonder if she has been hired to be some sports corispondant like she was for the today show during the Olympics or something of that nature. I would say coaching but I think she stated before that she has no interest in coaching.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah I thought most likely some gig where she writes a monthly column about fitness.

      • Guest Says:

        She is posting the pictures all about fitness but not showing herself. It is a bit strange.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Did anyone see that pic she posted of a blonde girl with her back turned to the camera? Almost like she was trying to show that it was her but it clearly wasn’t? (It was a super fit girl with a small waist, and there were all these “fitness” inspirational sayings on it…)

        Thought it was odd. That girl really just needs to go to college.

      • GymMom Says:

        Shawn’s weight goes up and down. She looked like she gained weight during DWTS again, so she’s probably working on losing it? She needs to leave the spotlight because she appears desperate and weird!

      • Guest Says:

        Is Shawn going to join the Teen Choice Live Tour? I have found this video and the clue comes to her obviously.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Shawn is the only gold medal gymnast to have won a teen choice award…. disappointing…..

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think she won twice.

      • Guest Says:

        She has won three times. (2008, 2009, 2011)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        3 times? Didn’t know that.

      • Guest Says:

        I think it is good for Shawn that she decided to be dedicated to promote women health and fitness with association to Nike so that she has the motivation to keep herself fit and we may not need to worry her weight gain issue after a few years.

    • Lis Says:

      I wish she’d take a page from Nastia’s book (I can’t believe I’m saying that) and go to college.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You need to leave this blog NOW and never come back:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’ll believe Nastia’s going to college when I see it. I still say she doesn’t graduate. Gosh I’m so meannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn…

        Saw a Subway commercial the other day and damn bitchface is STILL there. I am going to Togo’s until she’s off. Hear that, Subway? Or Quizno’s!

  9. terrigymfan Says:

    McKayla asking a question during Miss America pageant:

    Here is an interview of McKayla during the contest. I like the dress but way too much cleavage for her age IMO.

  10. Catherine Says:

    McKayla is just great at rising to the occasion. The dress is fine I think, she is 17 and I think ‘old enough’ to wear something like that. It’s a very very similar style to a popular debs dress (read: prom, with alcohol and more debauchery) style here, and the majority of those girls are 17. Not to mention, the dresses tend to have cutouts and be backless as well, which is of course overkill and trashy. But this dress is fine, and age appropriate I think.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I agree, I think the dress is fine. And McKayla is very charming and a ham :)

      • GymMom Says:

        McKayla looks stunning and yes it’s typical of most formal dresses for prom.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        I wonder if the Miss America Pageant provided McKayla with her dress. It does look like something a fashion designer custom designed.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      McKayla always delivers when it comes to charisma and charm. Regarding the dress, I do love the belt which emphasizes her slim waist (these girls need to do that every time). As far as the cleavage I know all the girls her age are doing that nowadays but I’m still a bit old fashioned on that. My girls are still a few years away from the prom stage. I guess I am just going to have to get used to things.

      It would have been funny if after the contestant answered the question McKayla had made a “not impressed” face as she was writing down her notes.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I think McKayla’s dress is very age appropriate. I always think of it like this: “would I let my 16/17-year-old daughter out looking like that?” Yes, on this one. It’s flattering and the neckline is bare but not low. I would advise her not to bend over too much though and allow people to look down it, haha.

      Aly’s dress on the other hand I would NOT want my 16/17-year-old daughter wearing. Aly now is 18 and an adult (maybe she’s almost 19?) so I don’t mind it at her age – funny how there’s only two years of difference yet I make a distinction here. But can you imagine if McKayla were wearing Aly’s Golden Globes dress?

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yes, I thought the same! First I went “wooow that is low cut. No wait, she is over 18. Still low cut but not pervy”.

      • Biyatch Says:

        I think McKayla’s dress would be appropriate if there was a little less décolletage emphasis. Reading the fashion blogs a lot of them actually thought Gabby’s dress was too mature for her age. I actually thought appropriateness was fine with the exception of the hi-lighter color. Probably would have been great in black or red. She’s 17, not 12. No need to be in a princess dress. Aly is an adult, I didn’t think her dress was particularly inappropriate. Might have been a different story if she was larger on top.

        Huffington Posts thoughts on the bangs: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/13/gabby-douglas-hair-golden-globes_n_2469347.html

  11. Catherine Says:

    Raluca Haidu has left the National Team (don’t know if she left, or was pushed). She MAY return to it in future of course, though the article does pretty much say ‘out of contention for Olympic squad’. Madalina Blendea, Asiana Peng, Andreea Munteanu, Andreea Iridon (all fabulous!), Ana Maria Ocalisan and Stefania Alina Stanila have been added, and will train at Izvorani. The latter two are new seniors, but are below the standard of the others, so far. Raluca is the star of The Secret of Deva. She joins Diana Chelaru, Catalina Ponor, Amelia Racea, Gabriella Dragoi and Ana Porgras in retiring/leaving the National team in the last year alone. That’s a huge hit!

  12. JAS4 Says:

    Shannon’s having another baby :)

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Congrats Shannon!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I hope Shannon has a girl.

        I hope that the girl follows in Shannon’s excellence/awesome gymnastics and even better – I hope that girl eventually unseats Marta/Nastia/etc. and overcomes the politics at USAG to make everything more “fair” and proper.

        Too much to hope for?

        But really – excited for her. I guess call me ignorant, but I thought when you go through chemo you kind of give up the notion of having more children? Or maybe she had to go through the decision to save her eggs? Not sure I guess. I’m glad I don’t know this though, to be honest!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am not sure about the medical stuff but you sure are asking a lot out of Shannon Miller’s unborn child aren’t you.lol

        I hope its a girl too. USA-gymnastics needs a little more beautiful in its room full of bad form.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I totally am asking a lot. Although I wouldn’t be surprised if she steered her child clear of gymnastics. Put her in dancing or something. Shannon’s smart enough not to say anything negative about the current regime (although she’d probably help the cause a lot if she did) but I can’t see her being stupid enough to put her child in gymnastics and then anticipate that the current regime will change.

        Someone needs to stir up that pot before it happens. I wish a fire would be lit up under ASac, Shawn, Chellsie, etc…

      • terrigymfan Says:

        The only bad thing about your prediction Sanity is that if it does come completely true we are looking at at least 25 to 30 more years of the Marta/Valerie/Nastia mafia controlling USA Gymnastics! I was hoping the coup could occur a little sooner.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know. I wish someone here knew ASac. I think she’d do it if provoked. If I ever run into her it’ll be my goal to be like “dude, Marta effed with you didn’t she? What’s the scoop?” And she’d spill it all and I’d record it and then…yeah nobody would give a crap because I’m a nobody. And that’s assuming she wouldn’t blow me off because I’m a nobody. But maybe her ego has toned down since she lives in Kansas City now and her boyfriend is barely a bench Q-back on the suckiest football team in the league.

      • Case Says:

        Shannon’s daughter would be too young for the 2028 games. 2032 is her year.

      • Kazic Says:

        Sanity isn’t asking anymore out of Shannon’s child than we are asking of Michelle Kwan’s not even conceived yet children lolol.

        Btw hai guise! I am back!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Shouldn’t you be studying.lol

        I forgot about Michelle Kwan’s future daughter. She has even more to live up too. USFSA has died since she left. At least the gym has had success. Skating has had that joke of a silver medal Sasha Cohen won.

        Welcome back.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I mean it’s not much to ask. Just give birth to a “mini-me” – Shannon and Michelle! I mean do it for your country! lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Maybe they will switch. Miller’s daughter will skate and Michelle’s will do gymnastics. Then we can compare them. God I hope this blog doesn’t exist in twenty years. I will need a life by then.lol

      • Kazic Says:

        I’m done studying GTT but thanks. Also all the assorted family members have returned to their respective states/countries.

        Yes Kwan’s heirs have much more work to do than Shannon’s lol. But seriously, I am with Sanity on this, do it for ‘Merica! lol.

  13. exgymgurl Says:

    Most likely they saved embryos. You can very easily “bank” fertilized eggs in cases like this. Im thrilled for them, and Im sure we’ll hear all about it on the today show or whatever network her NBC contract deems appropriate….

  14. Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

    Jordyn posted this on Instagram yesterday around the same time Aly posted pic of her & Gabby at the Globes. Maybe I’m over analyzing things or looking too deep into something However, it seems a bit telling in my mind. I mean seeing how McKayla was a judge for The Miss USA pageant, Aly & Gabby were both at the Golden Globes & Kyla Ross being named to the American Cup maybe she’s feeling a bit inferior or shafted in her career by seeing all the opportunities her fellow team members are having. Especially cause it could have been her doing all these things considering how she was suppose to be “The Golden Girl” at the Olympic games well we all know how that ended, perhaps what she was referring to was Gymnastics in that quote… http://verucasalt2929.tumblr.com/image/40570385807

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It wasn’t lost on me. I agree with you. I think Jordyn is back in the gym because she misses the publicity and probably does feel left out.

      She was the “it” girl going into the Olympics and now she is an after thought. She’s pretty much Jaycie Phelps with a better resume

      I love Aly but what she did in London was never expected, by anyone.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      Wow. that’s some quote. I hope she’s not talking about gymnstics but maybe. Could she be talking about Geddert? Maybe all the tours and other distracting nonsense (meaning time to get back in the gym).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She could be talking about Aly as a friend too. Oh the fun of speculating:)

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Gymnastics has given her everything she has thus far; don’t think it would be that. Even though she didn’t have her own individual Olympic moment she’ll always be an Olympic and World gold medalist (even she has a medal Nastia never could achieve). Her career wasn’t what she was aiming for exactly but she knows she’s very fortunate to have been where she was, when she was. Making that Olympic team was HUGE, even though everyone figured her for a lock. How tough it must have been to have had a target on your back for so long being the last World champ.

      Any gymnast who can make an Olympic team is successful in my mind, and the gymnasts probably know that better than anyone. That window of opportunity is so small. And, Jordyn was one “bad” practice away from suffering a really bad injury and not being able to make the Olympic team at all. Can you imagine if the Olympics were in September or something and she broke her leg like Shayla Worley?

      I think Jordyn if anything should be referring to Marta in that quote, hah! Or maybe she’s having a personal problem with a friend. Whatever it is, I get the feeling she knows what she did was special despite the downer in the AA competition. She has even said that she felt like a “rock star” after they came back from winning that gold.

  15. Kelley Lynskey (@Meatless_Ball29) Says:

    BTW people thought Gabby’s ohhh ooops I mean “Gabrielle’s” hair looked like shit during the Olympics games, but seriously wtf was that last night? That hairstylist needs to find a new profession asap!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

