Dancing with the stars reaction here

So what do you think? I personally think this show is fixed. From the first season when Kelly Monaco won even though she messed up twice in the final show. It has never gotten much better.

I have watched enough of this show to know they low ball the favorites and Shawn had been lowballed all season long.

My new obsession is the new Boy meets world in planning for ABC, the same channel that just wasted my night.

The end……:)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1-800-868-3402

Vote online, here Vote, vote, vote.

She is annoying me on twitter as much as the next person ( I almost deleted her a few minutes ago) but than I came to my senses and remembered that a vote for Shawn is a vote against Nastia so tonight is the night we all, MUST VOTE.

Remember, the more we see of Shawn the less we see of Nastia.

The entertainment media never splits the fame train (Think all the publicity Kim Kardashian gets compared to her sisters) so the more we get of Shawn, the less we get of Nastia. It’s a no brainer.

(By the way, I was told by someone that read it on GGMB that Nastia changed agents because she thought he did not get her enough endorsement deals after the latest Olympic debacle. If that isn’t enough of a reason to vote for Shawn than I don’t know what I have instilled in you fellow Nastia haters:) How the hell could Nastia expect ANY endorsements after that choke job? Her arrogance astounds me.

1-800-868-3402

tshirt_fun

148 Responses to “Dancing with the stars reaction here”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    LOL I will not be voting for anyone probably but I will be interested to see what Shawn can do next after DWTS…I think her career will finally start to sputter out. Nobody really cares about a former Olympic gymnast (especially when her Olympics is now over four years ago!)

    And really?! How could Nastia even think that her epic fail of a comeback should have landed her more sponsors? She thinks she can get more now by hiring a new guy? She makes no sense. I can’t wait for her to disappear, too. Buh-bye.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Just go vote, please for me:) Just once. It’s easy by phone.

      NO NASTIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    • Guest Says:

      The Russian bitchy face still can appear on every major gymnastic competitions and commentating so we still cannot completely get rid of that.

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    Oh, and just looked at this…

    Um, I guess her knee has since healed up nicely? Anyone else look at that and go WTF?!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The other dancers on the show had t pick a dance for everyone left on the show and Shawn got stuck with some weird dance, this was it.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Just strange how her knee was able to handle that…ok so I voted for her since you made it so easy. :)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Good job:) I give you a computer cookie. The thought of a Nastia free world gets me excited:)

  3. Biyatch Says:

    I love that not only Shawn but also Alicia have made more off endorsements than the 2008 All Around ice princess. I feel like either Gabby, Aly or McKayla will eventually end up on Dancing with the Stars, question is which one. Gabby (Shawn) and Aly’s (Apolo Ono) agents have put people on the show. Should be interesting as it plays out…

  4. Case Says:

    Done…just for you GTT. :)

  5. Case Says:

    Did anyone else watch the Fierce Five? At the end of the dance it looked like one of them snuck off the stage. It happened so fast but it seemed off because there were five rings but only four dancers.

  6. Guest Says:

    Didn’t you see Fierce 5 on the Shawn and Derek’s Freestyle? :)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I noticed Gabby wasn’t front and center:) Mckayla was:)

      • Guest Says:

        But Aly looks having more camera in rehearsal.

      • Guest Says:

        I just noticed that Mckayla was absent in the rehearsal capture.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        On twitter it said she was flying in, perhaps she missed the rehersal

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Looks like McKayla is obviously still very injured. She couldn’t do any of the main tricks or anything. She also looks to have lost a lot of muscle. Should be interesting to see if she goes Hollywood or back to gymnastics. Both will be very difficult roads to take for very different reasons.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Good catch SIM, she did not do the handspring ariel sachet combination, and just went from the rings to the front while they were dancing and posed up front in the center. She could not have traversed center stage because Shawn and Derek were dancing there. I looked at the other freestyle routines, and none were even close to Shawn and Dereks and while they went with their illegal quickstep that the judges all initially agreed was the best DWTS performance ever they have the lowest score at the end of the night. I think that they played it perfectly, knowing that people would be less compacent if the scores were lower. I can honestly say that their routines were much better and more entertaining. That Melissa girl looks like shes dancing through water, the samba is in slow motion, and Kelly Monaco looked like a fish out of water on the ariel stunt work. Dont get me wrong any other season theyd be great. I just think Derek and Shawn blew the competition away and I dont evven like Shawn.

      • Catherine Says:

        McKayla still has a week or two left in her second cast (hasty removal for show I’d say). Then rehab. Then the gym. She could easily squeeze in an appearance or two while she’s still idle after the tour.

    • Guest Says:

      Here is the video.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That was quick.

        Anyone know what program people use to tape from the TV to youtube?

      • mim Says:

        that lady judge calls them the fab 5 lol.

        i kinda liked their dance. yes it was unashamedly gymnastics-y but it was entertaining.

      • Guest Says:

        Altough there are some gymnastic-like tricks, I saw Shawn and Derek still did a couple of fusion of the previous dances like mambo, tango, jive, bhangra.

      • Guest Says:

        Shawn and Derek’s dances earned the most popularity in youtube among the all star dances so still hard to explain why they didn’t win if the final result is not rigged.

  7. GymMom Says:

    This is their quick-step from a few weeks ago which they chose for their fav dance to perform tonight again. Yeah….knee problem??? They violated rules for quick-step then and again tonight. Shawn’s dances have been mostly all gymnastics/tumbling.

    http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=p9ZjX1vtucM&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dp9ZjX1vtucM

  8. Biyatch Says:

    Another awkward fierce five interview. At one point McKayla cuts Gabby off and the look on Gabby’s face is priceless.

    http://www.ontheredcarpet.com/video?id=8899002&pid=

    • Gymnerd Says:

      Oh my….lol.

      Watch Gabby every time McKayla answers a question. It’s like she’s trying to catch eyes with someone (Jo or Kyla) to roll her eyes, but whoever she’s trying to engage isn’t engaging in return. Trouble with McKayla and GABRIELLE? Oh, TOO BAD!!!!!!! LMFAO.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        It’s almost like with Gabby’s look that they have talked about McKayla’s habit of “stealing the limelight” from the others without McKayla being there. I would bet there’s some jealousy and annoyance. And frankly it was a bit rude of McKayla to interrupt when the mic was not on her and she had just gone through her answer uninterrupted. I’m sure all of the girls have a bit of jealousy. McKayla had it the easiest. She did ONE apparatus (that she could normally do in her sleep except when it counted on the individual stage) that took the least amount of time. Her Olympics was literally less than ten seconds long, yet she’s reaping most of the benefits from it and on top of that, taking the attention away from the other girls while she’s in front of the camera.

        The girl is annoying to me only because it’s so obvious she’s so in love with herself. She’s not as annoying as Gabby yet though.

    • mim Says:

      gabby doesn’t even try to hide her disdain every time mckayla talks. and LOL at mckayla’s wink at the camera while gabby is talking at the end… she is such a ham. maybe she’s jel of mckayla’s acting gigs?

      aly and mack seem the most comfortable on camera but kyla has improved a little, much less awkward! :)

      the makeup looks great on all of them too.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I noticed it too when mckayla interrupted her. Did you see mckayla wink at the camera while gabby was talking. No wonder Gabby was starting to look annoyed. Ahh teenagers they’re too funny.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I think Gabby seems like such a little schemer. After McKayla says “oh I like tough questions” Gabby immediately tries to catch Aly’s eye and smiles.
        I don’t know, I just get a backstabber vibe off her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby gave the same dirty looks when jordyn was talking.

      • terrigymgan Says:

        It looked a little bit like McKayla was winking at someone off camera during the interview.

        I’m betting Gabby at some point will do a tell all interview on Oprah or something where she throws the other members of the Fierce Five under the bus. She will claim McKayla was constantly stealing her limelight, and say that all four of the other members of the Fierce Five did not give her the respect and deference she deserved as the aa gold medalist.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        It looked a little bit like McKayla was winking at someone off camera during the interview.

        I’m betting Gabby at some point will do a tell all interview on Oprah or something where she throws the other members of the Fierce Five under the bus. She will claim McKayla was constantly stealing her limelight, and say that all four of the other members of the Fierce Five did not give her the respect and deference she deserved as the aa gold medalist.

      • mim Says:

        i thought she was laughing with kyla after her wink too lol.

    • Biyatch Says:

      There was another interview, maybe Access Hollywood (?) where Aly stops everyone from talking so Kyla can get a word in. It was super cute.

    • Catherine Says:

      Gabby comes off looking worst. McKayla shouldn’t have interrupted, but it looked more sudden inspiration ‘no wait they got 10′s rather than deliberate. Anyway, it looks bad for the sweetheart to have a big ‘are you HEARING this bitch?’ look on her face. In front of a camera at least. Once again McKayla is more interesting to talk to than the rest put together, I can’t seem to care that she may have been obnoxious. The wink, classic.

  9. JAS4 Says:

    I made sure to use all the votes on my home and cell phones and online lol :)

  10. exgymgurl Says:

    Nastias agent was too busy at the 2012 olympics badmouthing Jordyn Wieber when he was interviewed by Yahoo to get her any endorsements. I think that Its highly probable one of them will end up on DWTS, Im sure it wont be Gabby because she’s not camera ready shes awkward and annoying. I hope Shawn wins because you are right: more Shawn = less Nastia

  11. exgymgurl Says:

    KYLA had no and umms in that interview… she answered the question with poise and confidence,

  12. sanitynmotion Says:

    I can see Aly or Jordyn taking a DWTS slot – Aly has matured a lot since the Olympics. How funny would it be though if Aly does it – two of the gymnasts with the worst dance ability making the show. Out of all of them McKayla has the best dance ability and form but I don’t see her doing the show. She probably thinks it’s beneath her (which it is pretty much) and it’s not the way to go about starting a “serious” acting career.

    • Biyatch Says:

      I can’t see Jordyn cutting in, to be honest. The big thing that she had going for her before the games was that she was the reigning AA champ. I never really thought she had the pizazz/camera ready looks of the other girls. And while it sucks to say, because she IS still a gold medalist, she had a disappointing games. Who reps Jordyn? I know that McKayla is repped by WME & Aly by Octagon… both heavy hitters.

      McKayla should really be thankful as hell she fell on her ass because its given her more notoriety than a gold medal ever would have.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree with you about Jordyn. I don’t see her as craving the attention though that McKayla so obviously does.

        I’d much rather have an individual Olympic gold medal though over a couple stints on some B-rated cable show any day. Other than that I don’t really see McKayla’s acting career getting anywhere soon. Maybe later in life but the McKaylas out there are a dime a dozen in Hollywood.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Isn’t Jordyns agent Tasha Schwikert?

      • Case Says:

        Jordyn is repped by Wasserman (WMG) out of L.A. That agency is no joke either. She has two reps from that group…Tasha Schwikert is the one she is most commonly associated with.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Wasserman agency is big time. If DWTS wants someone else that they have it could very easily mean a shot for Jordyn. Jordyn has a great “story” meaning the olympics were not all that she had hoped and looking for redemption. Gabby has no story. Aly really doesnt either. Shawn did, she lost the AA and I could see them “selling” Jordyn the same way. Apollo got lucky with Julianne Hough the first time around. I think that Jordyn with the right partner would really shine. I think that she is outgoing enough and a show like that could really bring it out. I think that they will be ACHING for ANY of the girls for the next few seasons. Two different Khardashians have done the show and I could easily see Jordyn and Aly both getting the nod. America loves a “come back” story more than a champion story….

      • mim Says:

        i really like jordyn because she seems so sweet, so refreshingly normal, and like a really nice girl. but i agree with biyatch, she doesn’t pop on screen or have that outgoing personality the same way aly and mckayla do. and i don’t think that is a terrible thing AT ALL, at least she’d have the opportunity to be a bit more of a closed book, have some privacy and normalcy in her life than if she was more of a celebrity. it’s like how i think kyla is actually the most beautiful of the bunch but it doesn’t necessarily translate on camera because she’s more reserved, but it doesn’t matter because we know gymnastics is still her focus.

        i can see aly on DWTS for sure. i think there is a dancer in there somewhere!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think Jordyn’s story would sell. It’s considered old news now.

  13. icemeltsfast Says:

    Somehow I don’t think anything can deter Nastia from her media-whoring antics. Gotta admire that determination? lol maybe not
    However, she’s going back to NYU soon so I think we won’t hear from her much once she starts studying… does anybody know her major??

  14. Case Says:

    I hope they choose McKayla or Jordyn simply because I think they’d dance well. Aly is America’s sweetheart but I think she’d suck on DWTS. If Gabby doesn’t get chosen I’m sure we will hear Natalie Hawkins crying to Oprah about it.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      They said the same thing about Shawn before she did DWTS. (what you thought about Aly)

      • Case Says:

        I’m calling it now. If Aly gets picked she will be one of the first three in her season voted off.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Maybe but they said the exact same stuff about Shawn when she started this show. I think it would have helped her gymnastics a lot.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Aly also reps the jewish community which would give her an edge. In retrospect i think she would do Awesome…… Final two, and I dont see melissa beating shawn and derek their performances are so much better…

      • hurms22 Says:

        In my opinion Shawn was an all right dancer before DWTS but just didn’t have the right choreography for her. She seemed to have a basic sense of rhythm, which I feel Aly lacks.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      And i was wrong…. But sad for shawn happy for melissa…. People will fieget melissa won just like with nastia an theyll think shawn won LOL

      • GymMom Says:

        I don’t think so. Melissa deserved to win and so did her partner Tony.

      • Guest Says:

        I still don’t understand why Derek choose redoing the rule-breaking quickstep instead of other high-scoring good dances such as mambo or paso/tango fusion. It gave Melissa/Tony advantage of scoring and affected audience’s voting intention.

      • Longtimefan Says:

        It does remind me of the Olympics….the girl with the right body type won instead of the girl who deserved it.

  15. GymMom Says:

    WHOO HOO! Melissa Rycroft won DWTS!! Sorry Shawn is too annoying!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      LOL I knew what your reaction would be but I disagree.

      EVERYONE ELSE BE NICE, Gym mom is allowed her opinion.No personal attacks.

      • GymMom Says:

        I almost felt like apologizing to you GTT for my enthusiasm about Melissa winning DWTS? Ha ha ha To be honest, Melissa and Tony were in first place points-wise the entire season. I didn’t like Melissa in 2008 when she joined DWTS after getting dumped by The Bachelor, but she improved her dancing alot since then. And this is her partner’s first Mirror Ball Trophy. He has had so many bad partners like Kate Gosselin for instance. Every time Shawn said “bittersweet” I wanted to cut myself!!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        No need to apologize. You are allowed your opinion. If I argue back with you don’t take it personally. I don’t think Melissa was a great dancer, she was led by Tony most of the time. I still say Shawn was robbed but I have watched the show on and off enough to know that its fixed. The first year was the worst, the year Emmit Smith won. Fixed!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know a lot of reality show people and let me tell you ALL reality shows are blatantly fixed. There is no “reality” to it – you’d be amazed. And yes, producers go out of their way to make sure a populace will watch; you’d be amazed what they do behind the scenes. The Bachelor is actually a hugely fixed show, believe it or not. Yet everyone wonders why most couples end up breaking up.

        I would never participate in a reality show unless they were paying me millions – and yes, that’s a plural.

        Melissa is overhyped in my opinion. She’ll do anything to stay famous. She’s worse than Shawn. And she’s way too skinny now but she does it so that she’s accepted by Hollywood.

      • GymMom Says:

        I kind of feel sorry for Shawn! Her parents show off her DWTS trophy that she won in 2008 more than they show her Olympic medals. They were front and center at every DWTS show? ABC used to juggle families and give others a chance to sit in front row center, but not this season? One good thing..Shawn probably earned around $400,000 for DWTS. She’s going to need it now for college or whatever she does? I do wish her well, but the look on her face when Melissa was announced the winner was pretty telling.,.,bitter!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Can you show the reactions (is there a YouTube video)? I find Melissa equally annoying if not more so; she’s a huge famewhore and is a fake b*tch. Just something I know. I used to be a huge Bachelor fan and all too. BUT that being said I’m kind of glad Shawn didn’t win. I think she was a bit too cocky thinking she would, and I can’t help but root for the underdog.

  16. GymMom Says:

    By the way, regarding Fierce Five on DWTS? McKayla was up on rings but tonight I watched and she did sneak off and seat herself at the edge of the stage where the whole group ended the dance. And apparently McKayla is back on Hart of Dixie according to her Twitter. WHOO HOO! Shawn took 2nd place DWTS…it’s not bittersweet….Shawn is just bitter! Oh well, now on to real life Shawn!! It was interesting at end of DWTS…the way all the other contestants rushed the stage to hug Melissa, who won! That doesn’t usually happen. And another interesting fact…Shawn’s boyfriend was in the audience last night. She tweeted photo of them together, saying he was her good luck charm? Well he is back in Iowa City today…not staying for Finale tonight?? Did he know something? It seems weird that he would leave like that? Oh well.,.WHOO HOO! Melissa Rycroft won DWTS..beating Shawn!!! That’s all!

  17. mim Says:

    oh GTT i read that girl meets world is going to be on the disney channel :( kinda disappointed about that!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That sucks but A LOT of people are excited for this show with the cast returning so if a big enough deal is made maybe they will bring back TGIF and put it on ABC.

      The Disney channel sucks in general (hey the Wizards of Waverly place was awesome. They got one show right) and I really hope they move it to ABC. The good news is the original producer is doing the show so it might actually work.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        It’s getting a lot of good press – who knows. My friend from hs is Danielle Fishell’s cousin (I probably spelled her name wrong).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Just call her Topanga, surprisingly it’s easier to spell.lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am way too excited for this show to come back then I should be.lol

        I miss having a TV show I just have to be home to see. I have not had one of those in years.

        Then I remember its the DISNEY CHANNEL, Then I just sigh.

      • mim Says:

        im was hoping it would be on abc family!

  18. nero Says:

    BAHAHA Oh thank GOD!!! Seriously, Shawn’s whole ‘Olympic Redemption’ schtick was pissing me off. She was getting no where near that Olympic team bum knee or not. And why does she need redemption?? She’s an Olympic Champion and 3 time silver medalist, she already had her ‘Olympic moment’ 4 years ago….God shut up

    And I love how they put gymnastics into every single one of her routines even though a doctor apparently told her she can do anything BUT gymnastics

    I don’t know if this show is rigged 100% because I thought for sure they would give it to the golden couple. I mean they got away with murder the entire season, it’s Derek’s last season, Shawn didn’t get to go to the Olympics etc etc. I thought for sure they were building it up for them to win. I think Derek dropped the ball by choosing their quickstep again which the judges didn’t like the first time around, so why would they like it again? And from what I read from around the web a lot of people were pissed with their complete arrogance and disregard for the rules. I read a LOT of people said they were switching their votes from Shawn to Melissa. I think in the end those points were too much to make up

    With all of that said, their freestyle last night was dope. I loved the FF in it and the music was so cool I had to look it up download it and put it on my iPod, it’s called Carnival De Paris if anyone else wants to listen.

    You guys finally got rid of Nastia can we please please PLEASE be done with Shawn now??

    • GymMom Says:

      Yay Nero….I agree 100%!!! I forgot to mention how this season of DWTS was her “Redemption Tour.” Ha ha ha. Between “redemption” and “bittersweet” I am glad DWTS All Stars is over!!!!

      • nero Says:

        I swear to god if I heard ‘redemption’ ‘Olympic moment’ ‘bittersweet’ or ‘it would mean the world to me’ one more time I was going to blow my brains out. I’m happy Tony won, he always gets such shitty partners it was about time

  19. GymMom Says:

    It was so close between the 3 finalists..Derek made a huge mistake choosing to repeat the dance where they broke all the rules for last night’s show. It was obvious the judges were not pleased. Gotta play by the rules and doing that dance again was tacky. Also, Cary Ann the female judge said to Shawn last night, “you’ve been doing the freestyle all season” referring to the gymnastics she incorporated into every dance…nobody else has ever done that. Shawn didn’t do it when she was on DWTS last time either. We know now that her knee is perfectly fine and the reason she didn’t make the 2012 team was she was out of shape. It had nothing to do with her knee, as evidenced by her performances on DWTS??

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Seriously when I saw that dance with all of the squats I was like “girl, your knee is fine – you lie.” She was out of shape because she quit doing gymnastics, and then didn’t announce her comeback until months after. I have a mind to believe that she quit gymnastics because she knew it would be either going on this stupid show again or trying to make the Olympic team, and we all knew she wouldn’t make it even if she did really awesome at Trials. Marta was not going to have her on that team. And actually I was disappointed by that because I loved Shawn as a competitor. Then she just sold herself out to be a C-list Hollywood star. Gag. In two to three months nobody will care/know who Shawn is anymore, and she’s going to be wondering what to do with herself. Oh! I guess it’s time to start applying to colleges!

      • GymMom Says:

        She has to get her high school diploma first? Ha ha I honestly believe Shawn’s comeback leading up to London was FAKE, for the purposes of maintaining her Nike sponsorship and to create buzz so she would get asked to be on DWTS ALL STARS? She claims ABC called her the day she retired from gymnastics? And what happened to her Nike Fuel bracelet she had on blast on Twitter? No mention of it in several weeks? I think Nike is backing away from Shawn? They’re not in dance shoe business after all. Do you think ppl watching DWTS are buying Nike Fuel bands? I doubt it! DWTS is fixed in order to create the most buzz/controversy. On the other hand, Shawn & Derek were cocky the entire season. It seemed like they set themselves apart from other contestants? To answer person who said winner(Melissa) was picked by body type….remember when Shawn won, she was heavier than she is now!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I don’t think her comeback was fake in the beginning. I believe she was not sponsored by Nike until she was well into her comeback mode. As it went on though, I think she was starting to see the light and beginning to realize that no matter what she did, she wouldn’t make the team. Marta wouldn’t allow it. So she kind of backed off, made the spectacle about the knee, and allowed her agent to open up her schedule for this kind of shit (DWTS and all the other nonsense she was doing). Even during the whole Bounty thing, when she was supposedly in comeback mode she looked like she had backed off. There was a point where she was definitely IN SHAPE but I feel like after she got back from the Colorado rehab thing she just knew it was over.

        That being said I still don’t think she handled her retirement well, at all. She blatantly lied to make her story seem to be something it wasn’t. I think overall her comeback was legit but her retirement was fake. She could have competed at nationals and trials – shit, she competed the year before. She just didn’t want to continue to make the time commitment since she was getting all of these other offers with another Olympics coming down the line. In four years she might be around for the Olympics (commentator or something of that nature) but now she’ll just join most other Olympic athletes and only be relevant every four years.

        And yes I don’t think Melissa won because of her body type – if anything she’s too skinny. Her legs are pin thin and I would bet she’s not eating much so she can maintain her weight. I watched her on the Bachelor before this “Hollywood bug” hit her and she was much healthier looking. She was thin but not as thin as she is now. But whatever. Shawn is more fit/slim than she was when she won last time but no matter what she never had the “dancer’s” body.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree about Shawn’s comeback. People forget just how much weight she lost. Than they forget that she tried to make the world team, hit at camp and was still only named to the Pan Am team she she actually went. Unlike Chellsie who was only willing to break herself for worlds and she took herself out of Pan Ams.

        I really think, and this is just an opinion but Shawn saw she had no shot at that team with Marta in charge and she then decided to quit. Remember she started her comeback when way before Nastia did and she was ready to compete in 2011. Than she got injured.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think they were cocky at all. I just am not seeing what you see.

        I think the fact that so many people were rooting for Shawn (not gymnastics fans) from the show proves at least to me how liked Shawn was. Then again people like Alicia and we know what a biatch she is.lol

      • Guest Says:

        If looking for the youtube views of dances in all-stars, Shawn and Derek’s dances earned an overwhelming popularity over the other couples’. It definitely revealed that they won people’s heart.

      • Gymnerd Says:

        Sanity, you’ve posted twice that “no way was Marta going to let Shawn be on the team.” Do you say this because the “Fierce Five” were already chosen, or do you know something I don’t know? Details, please! :)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I wish I had more details…but it was just obvious when she was hitting at camp (for Worlds 2011) and Marta bypassed her for Gabby (who was extremely inconsistent) and Sabrina Vega (who let’s face it had the same amount of difficulty in her routines as Shawn at the time). Shawn wasn’t even given the alternate spot for that team.

        I believe what GTT said about Shawn hitting (I don’t read other gymnast message boards so GTT is my source for this). Shawn has never been a Marta favorite, and it was obvious from day 1 that the only gymnast from ’08 being granted a spot on that 5-member team would be Nastia.

        Basically – it was rigged. Even if Shawn showed up at nationals or Trials and blew everyone away, Marta would make sure she would be underscored – just like she made sure Gabby was overscored. Sad but true, Marta really has total control over who makes it and who doesn’t.

  20. exgymgurl Says:

    The knee thing is a twisting / HARD landing / impact issue. She did nothing on DWTS that involved hard landings, and as for the twisting etc, shes said her knee is a non issue, but I think its like Jordyns stress fracture. Its LIMITING. Obvious a lot of people don’t understand knee injury or maintenance and care after knee surgery. Tumbling and hard landings with the numbers she would have needed in elite is a WHOLE lot different than 16 weeks and no hard landings.

    • nero Says:

      I’m not here to call Shawn an outright liar, I just think she embellishes things to make her story better. I mean it went from minor and no surgery needed, to surgery only if she wants to compete again, to ACL/MCL/meniscus tear, to ACL/MCL/meniscus and hamstring tear, to total knee reconstruction, to 2 total knee reconstructions to having to retire so she can walk when she’s 30.

      I don’t know what the truth is because she’s never told the truth. I think she messed her knee up but I also know Shawn and Sheryl Shade have gotten pretty ace at the media game. JMO

      • GymMom Says:

        On Access Hollywood Shawn said, “this is my redemption and having my girls here(fierce 5)….” Yada yarda yada Shawn!!! So you’re saying this proved you should have been competing in London???

      • GymMom Says:

        I just want Shawn, Nastia and Gabby to go far away! They all annoy me to no end!!! My husband & I agree that no matter how low-cut Shawn’s outfits were on DWTS, she has ZERO sex appeal! Her talking through her teeth and giggling are like nails on a chalkboard!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I respect your opinion nero but when you say “I’m not here to call Shawn an outright liar” and then follow that up with “I don’t know what the truth is because she’s never told the truth.” – I think you’re calling her a liar. :)

        And I agree with that. :)

        Play the media game all you want but fans aren’t that idiotic, especially gymnastics fans (the non-4-year type). :)

    • GymMom Says:

      Did you see any of her dances on DWTS? There were hard landings in every single dance she performed!

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah but its not the repetitive year after year hard pounding of gymnastics.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        hard landings with two or three days of practice is NOT hard landings from height like bars or beam, or hard landings practiced with 25 repitions a day like Marta would require for NUMBERS….. its not even year after year. When you are LANDING a triple full its A LOT different than a handspring or a walkover…. Its also MUCH different in SHOES than barefoot

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yep its insane how much the actual force is. NOT the same as dancing at all. Force = mass × acceleration. A double back would be 8 to 14 times the body weight on the legs.

      • Chris Says:

        As a dancer myself, and a former competitive gymnast with knee injuries (no surgeries) but I still felt the pain during dance studio training and had to limit or be careful with what I was doing. I could NEVER see myself tumbling on hardwood floor, a roundoff even would not be ok. And she’s doing a layout? I always said dance is probably more prone to injury that gymnastics because of the landings. Dancers land on cement, hard wood, just HARD floors. Gymnastics has all the padding in the world. Again, this is just coming from past experience. Shawn only seemed to have complained about her knee ONCE and that was when she actually hurt it while playing around with Sabrina.

    • hurms22 Says:

      Shawn apparently had a knee reconstruction. Doesn’t matter if she’s doing gymnastics or dancing. It would hurt with a large amount of any physical activity.

  21. Gymbee Says:

    Definitely its fixed! Producers control everything.
    Everything for the ratings! Wouldn’t be surprised if producers told Derek and Shawn to do that quickstep – wouldn’t make sense to do that if they chose it themselves.

    Also the fact that Derek Hough is leaving – would that entice audiences to come back and watch next year, with the professional champion not competing?
    So many things to take into account.

    • Guest Says:

      It is an unreasonable coincidence that all of them redo the week 3 dance which might not be their favourite. Shawn and Derek didn’t win the trophy, but they won people’s heart.

      • GymMom Says:

        The 3 DWTS finalists just arrived to do Goood Morning America. Shawn looked like she was going to the dentist? Losing last night finally wiped that fake smile off her face..thank God! It seems like she was convinced she had won and that’s why they decided to do the controversial dance for “their fans?”

  22. GymMom Says:

    Oh PULEEZE Shawn…”it meant the world to me” on GMA just now. And “my girls?” What the hell does she mean by that??? Shawn needs a reality check NOW!!!!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Shawn’s always said that. It’s to make her look more accepted by them than she already is. I’m ready to see what her “new reality” will be from now on…oh, that’s right – she has to face the real world where she no longer matters.

    • Chris Says:

      how many times did she say “my sisters” or “my teammates for so many years” …. girl, wrong quad

  23. sanitynmotion Says:

    I think most people were voting for Tony over Melissa – which I can understand. He consistently got screwed with bad partners and has been on the show for so long. I’m happy they won only for that reason (because I like Tony). I wish someone had a pic of Shawn’s face when it was announced she came in second? Muahahahahaha.

    I’m just kind of happy because I still feel slated for her telling fans she couldn’t wait for them to see her new floor routine when she had basically retired already. Liar.

    • nero Says:

      Seriously, I don’t think people understand how many people were voting for Melissa and Tony not because they thought they were the ‘best’ but because they liked them and wanted a non winner to win. That’s what happens when you allow outside people to vote, they’ll vote based on anything. And even if you just go by judges scores Shawn and Derek still come in third.

      And I maintain that Shawn and Derek winning is a much better story than Melissa and Tony. Not a lot of people know who Melissa is outside DWTS and Tony has more seasons to win. This is Derek’s last season and he ALWAYS gets help from the producers with good partners or the judges turning the other way and giving good scores when they’re not earned, why wouldn’t they help him out one more time and let him go out with a bang?

      I’m glad Derek didn’t win, he seems like a mega-douche. If Melissa was partnered with him I wouldn’t have wanted her to win

    • guest Says:

      I didn’t see Shawn show any bitter and she still smiled classy when she was announced to be second. Maybe she had some disappointment but she would realize that her growth and experience with Derek in these couple of weeks should be priceless. Like Derek’s father said “when the Mirror Balls are broken or lost, the memory if your incredible dances will live on, love! “.
      http://tv.yahoo.com/primetime/pint-dwts-champion-crowned-071003635.html

    • guest Says:

      In season 8, Shawn was still a bit shy to open her mind in some of her dances though she won that season. I much more enjoyed her performance in all stars season since she put more sass, maturity and performing skills as well as her precise footwork technique that demonstrate her growth in these few years.

    • nero Says:

      Shawn benefited from having Derek as a partner in the short run, but they started to wear thin on people’s nerves in the long run. I don’t think a lot of people took to them constantly thumbing their noses at the rules, like they were above them or something.

      I don’t know why people think it was rigged. Melissa and Tony scored multiple perfect scores and were on top of the leader board more than once. IIRC Shawn and Derek were only on top of the board once.

      Melissa was a better dancer Shawn was a better trickster

  24. exgymgurl Says:

    Melissa is probably scheduled to star in something upcoming and they wanted to promote her. Its that simple. I think her dancing is like slow motion and is awful. Shawn was head and shoulders above Melissa and while in any other season Melissa earned those 10s Shawn brought 15s. Thats a big reason gymnastics moved away from the perfect ten. And if it were all on the judges I doubt if they would have redone their illegal routine. They were just as capable of perfect 10s.

  25. Biyatch Says:

    Oh McKayla…

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Did she really just post that?!

    • GymMom Says:

      OMIGOD I LOVE McKayla!! She smacked Gabby down!!! Awesome and clever! McKayla is what’s known as a spitfire! Gabby is PHONEY and BORING!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I guess I interpreted it as more promoting herself than smacking Gabby down…but maybe she is doing the whole passive-aggressive thing. From the looks of it Gabby definitely did not like it when McKayla butted in while she was talking. You know what’s funny – if that were Jordyn or Aly or Kyla I’d be pissed for them, but I think it’s just hilarious when it’s Gabby.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Me too:) I honestly don’t think Mckayla realized what she was doing until it was too late to shut up. In a different video that someone linked here Mckayla started to pipe in again but she stopped herself and kept quiet.

        ALL of these girls have clearly been told to be bubbly and it is not working for Gabby. She comes across stupid and fake.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Gabby comes across to me as monotone and all of her answers seem to be caged responses. She talks too fast and she says “you know” and “like” way too much and she just comes across as someone who is not genuine at all and just non-relateable. That might not be a word but you know what I mean. And this is not even considering her former obnoxious comments and Oprah interview. She just does not have a good media presence. If she had more charisma and wasn’t so robotic she’d have a great chance. It was like she was told to be America’s Sweetheart and literally had no idea how to act like one.

      • GymMom Says:

        Amen!

      • mim Says:

        im still giggling at gabby trying to roll her eyes about mckayla to aly, and aly sweetly and serenely (but briefly!) smiles back with no acknowledgment of gabby’s eye role. ha!

    • macstabby Says:

      bwahahaha. McKayla>>Gabby

  26. Lis Says:

    I was really impressed with Aly in the interview. Her monotone voice seems to be disappearing!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She doesn’t always talk with that monotone voice. Her set up interviews seem to come across that way but when you just hear her talking (like in that video USA-gymnastics posted on the tour bus) she sounds normal.

      • Lis Says:

        You’re right. I just remember watching her documentary and I wanted to shake her just to hear some inflection in her voice. I think she’s loosening up with the media, which is good.

    • Biyatch Says:

      I think what Aly has going for her is that she (or at least her public image) is genuinely very likable. She seems to actually care about her teammates and even after losing a heartbreaking tie breaker she was gracious to other competitors. Even some of the Russian team have said in interviews that they liked her (Musty and Afan). She seems to talk in the monotone the most when she was answering the standard questions that she was probably asked a million times. Elie Tahari is starting to dress her so hopefully well see some better outfit choices. If you look back at the difference in presentation for 2011 Classics to Floor Finals her artistry and presentation improved dramatically. The mainstream public couldn’t care less that she doesn’t always flex her feet or that she’s not a Russian pixie ballerina. They like that she won a handful of medals and comes across as the sweet girl next door type.

  27. Kylie Says:

    Um are you actually serious BOY MEETS WORLD. Stuff Shawn this is super dooper exciting. It best be shown in NZ.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      They are making a sequel called girl meets world about Cory and Topanga’s kid. I am way more excited than I should be.lolo

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I am way more excited than I should be too… I saw every episode of that show when I was living in Taiwan and starved for American television….

      • allie Says:

        haha, I read a little blurb in something like Rolling Stone about how some fans of the original show were upset, and the writer says, “If you were a fan of the original, this show isn’t for you. What are you now, 30? Go watch Homeland.” :)

  28. GymMom Says:

    Did anyone see CBS Person to Person last week? They featured ppl like Drew Brees at home. Gabby was one of the ppl they interviewed. They didn’t show her at home, they showed her on Kelliggs Tour Bus? It looks like Gabby is living in a hotel in Virginia..not the townhouse her mother owns? I wonder when she goes back to Iowa?

  29. exgymgurl Says:

    Gabby is going to be on the barbara walters special also… of the most fascinating people or something…. what a snore

    • Gymnerd Says:

      There’s nothing “FASCINATING” about her. She’s an obnoxious twit!!!!!!

    • GymMom Says:

      Gabby has been told to ditch her loser family, but she’s no better on her own! By the way, McKayla posted another photo of her and Gabby, saying “I love this girl to the moon and back.” Obviously her agent told her the original photo she posted yesterday with Gabby wasn’t good for her image?

  30. mim Says:

    for mckayla fans, there’s a nice interview with artur akopyan about mckayla: http://www.gymnastike.org/blog/43251-Coaching-McKayla-Maroney

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

