Back to life, Back to reality

Back to life, The MMC version

My tax dollars hard at work

Oh Massachusetts. The T cost an arm and a leg but the state has money to drive Aly Raisman to her gym to celebrate her gold medals (no one celebrates the bronzes) Yep, Tax-achusetts.

Here is a blog from someone who went. To be honest I thought about going. It isn’t that far from my house but I had to work so I chose money over Aly. I know, where are my priorities:)

Article 1

Video

Just Jared Jr Aly
Video 2 (hopefully different. I did not watch)

More Aly and even more, more Aly.

More Aly. Living in Boston has its perks:)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The only info I can find about Kyla’s Ross home coming.

Jordyn will be home tonight and this network is covering it.

Mckayala and just jared jr

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have been thinking. I have discovered why Gabby is the face of this Olympics. I know she “won” the AA but the media puts her every move up but you know who the people keep searching for on yahoo? Mckayla Maroney. NOT Gabby.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mckayla Home coming

Ha, LOVE this:)

ha

This is just weird. I hope no one has a cold.

~~~~~~

I am thinking of changing the Shut Up Shannon blog to shut up Gabby. Does she not know how obnoxious she sounds when she says things like,

“Rio 2016 is in the back of my mind and if all goes well, then I think you will be seeing more of me,” Douglas told Reuters.

Tags: ,

113 Responses to “Back to life, Back to reality”

  1. Aerial Says:

    Excellent!!!!! Hahahaha!
    (I find this funnier than the McKayla is Not Impressed Tumblr!)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Me too. The Mckayla is not impressed is not original.

      • Kazic Says:

        That bunny is legit. I think that over time, Maroney will have more staying power in the public consciousness than Gabby. She’s a star, and she’s entertaining as fuck.

  2. mim Says:

    ugh, i wish the daily mail would get a name checker… mckayla is referred to “miss mahoney” at one point ha.

  3. sanitynmotion Says:

    Yeah I definitely think McKayla will steal Gabby’s show despite the media’s attempts to make Gabby the big star. Especially when Gabby has nothing but dirty laundry to air out with her family. I think everyone is kind of sick of that kind of story. It’s more refreshing when you see a personality such as McKayla’s.

    Plus, let’s be honest – McKayla has the “look” and the whole “not impressed” thing really made her almost a household name at this point.

    I don’t think Gabby will be going to Rio. Just a gut instinct. She’s done her thing, doubt she will want to keep going to the gym for another fluke shot at what she did this Olympics. I just don’t see her being able to repeat that, especially since she probably hasn’t even hit puberty yet.

    The best thing about the Colbert segment was Aly’s mom. She’s more entertaining than Aly. Aly really REALLY needs to try and not talk like a robot. It’s getting freakish.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I might have to start rooting for Katelyn Ohashi if Gabby comes back.lol

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Gawd, that’s a whole other story. I think her beam work is beautiful but her vault…I have this bad feeling she’ll end up being like another Bross.

        Speaking of which, is Bross training for worlds or is she done?

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        GTT are you saying Marta can’t have two pets? Lol

        BTW what is it with Woga and ugly vaults. Does Valeri not care that much to invest in good vaults. Nastias were ok most of the time, rebeccas omg, i have to see rebeccas and carlys vault but im sure they are just as dredful.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yes I think WOGA needs a serious Vault coach and Brestyan’s needs a bars coach ASAP maybe they should team up lol

      • JAS4 Says:


        This is Carly’s VT from the 04 Olympic AA
        It wasn’t great but not terrible just average not a lot of height or distance though

      • Kazic Says:

        Sanity Mckayla also has teh mouth. ;)

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        They also need a good choreographer asap to be sent down to camp to teach some of those girls how to move.

      • Catherine Says:

        It really bugged me that Gabby never said ‘I’ll do my best to try for Rio’ like a normal person. It was more like ‘See you there! For DEF!’.As if she hasn’t witnessed the 08 crew crumble all around her.

        Katelyn needs to be sent to AOGC for a few months. Lexie and co. need some GAGE presentation and elegance. I don’t see Katelyn being in the picture until 2016, but could be very wrong of course. At least she won’t desperately need an amanar with its devaluing now. I am rooting for Desch, Hernandez, Key and Biles the most. I could not care about Hundley or Priessman at this point. I wish good things for Ohashi who looks to be a strong all-arounder when vault is fixed but yeah, lasting power is in question. Oh and Finnegan, I love her and want to see her shine a bit.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yep, like on Jay Leno’s show when she was asked whether she’ll be in Rio “oh, DEF-initely!”.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I didn’t watch her on Leno. I hate Michelle Obama and am not a big Gabby fan so I skipped it.

    • terrigymfan Says:

      I sometimes wonder if Mckayla is going to become more famous by winning silver rather than gold on vault. That whole meme thing wouldn’t have happened if she hadn’t fallen on her second vault. My teen kids are saying that all their friends are talking about Mckayla now, and most were not even following gymnastics. The boys in particular are going crazy over her.

      • elitefan Says:

        Agreed…I see comments about her all the time by my friends (mid-20s) about the “not impressed” and how hilarious it is. So weird to see non-gymnastics fans suddenly talking about the gymnasts all the time.

  4. JAS4 Says:

    I could see McKayla with her own reality show lol

  5. Guest Says:

    I found an interesting statistics. No anyone women AA gold medalist gymnast will compete the next Olympic after Nadia Comaneci (Addition that also Nadia was 14 in 1976).

  6. gingercrush Says:

    Shannon Miller is awesome. Her commentating at the Olympics was excellent. I was a bit meh on Shannon Miller before but now I think she is fantastic.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I like her as a commentator (except the giggling every 5 seconds) but as much as I loved Shannon Milelr the gymnast, Shannon Miller the do-gooder needs to go.

  7. gingercrush Says:

    OMG lol Gabby Douglas is selling the most ugliest t-shirts.

  8. Guest Says:

    Mckayla “not impressed” meme may bring her 15-minute fame, but I wonder in the long term if people remember her. And in the next year’s DWTS is most probably that Ryan Lochte and Michael Phelps will be in rather than Mckayla.
    At least Gabby is the first African American won that title and that make the history which is hard to forgotten.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Mckayla was trending on yahoo yesterday. Gabby wasn’t

      • Kate Coursey Says:

        Yeah, I’d put my money on Mckayla, because she seems comfortable in the spotlight (more so than the other girls) and because she’s funny. The others are cute and all, but Mckayla makes people laugh. She’s got a combination of looks and personality that could keep her going for years, if her agents plays it right.

      • Kazic Says:

        She’s definitely got the personality to be a star. The meme will bring people to her, but they will stay for her persona.

    • Guest Says:

      I know Mckayla is the internet star in these few days. But I am concerned about the long term. The internet buzz is just like A-Sac punching a guy but cannot be lasted long.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        True but Alicia had several endorsements even though she did not make the team. You are probably right though but in 3 years if she is still training she could be the one making all the money come Olympic time.

      • terrigymfan Says:

        All i know is my 15 year old son says that all his friends are going crazy over Mckayla right now. Almost none of them even watched gymnastics in the Olympics but they all know who she is now. He says all they talk about is how good looking and “hot” she is. I think she will be more than a passing fad and is marketable even beyond gymnastics.

      • Guest Says:

        Alicia has the fame of record breaking with 10 World Championships medals and she make the spot in Worlds in 2 consecutive years.With the personality, it is the main reason she got endorsements though she not made the team.

      • Catherine Says:

        McKayla is the most likeable and marketable gymnast since Shawn (and Shawn is still going strong). Gabby has little to show for herself except medals. Medals alone won’t last the distance. McKayla also has a very photogenic face and ‘Tyra Banks smise’ eyes, simple for stuff like Covergirl or whatever where it won’t matter that she’s 5’3. Right now it looks like she could become the most famous of her team, bit early to tell though.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah McKayla always had that “spark” and “look at me” attitude when strutting around on the floor. I can see why she’ll be famous or someone to watch. I think she still has a lot to prove though in gymnastics – especially after sitting down her second vault – and I really think her beam and bars has potential. I would love to see her compete in an AA competition and do well. She has the ability, she just needs to put it all together. She’s got great form and her dancing ability is by far the best of this team (I think Kyla could be good too but she needs to up her D scores).

        Anyway, after all is said and done none of these girls have really made a move to throwing in the towel just yet. I feel like this point last Olympics, we kind of knew Shawn would be taking a break to do the media thing and Nastia was actually thinking about going on to get that World medal title that ASac now has.

        I think we’ll know more after the tour is over who’s really serious and going back to the gym. DWTS is doing an All Star thing so I guess no gymnasts from this quad will be able to take advantage of that!

  9. Guest Says:

    More on Jordyn’s homecoming:

    http://www.lansingstatejournal.com/article/20120816/OLYMPICS2012/308160056/DeWitt-s-Jordyn-Wieber-Olympic-champion-returns-home-cheering-crowd?odyssey=tab%7Ctopnews%7Ctext%7CFRONTPAGE&nclick_check=1

    Also in her hometown parade on Saturday.

  10. sanitynmotion Says:

    From the Letterman appearance, I couldn’t help but hate on some of the outfits. I thought Aly was into fashion. Her dress is atrocious. Sorry. That color and the style, …everything needs to go. And I’m not a fashion person, I just think it’s…really 1970’s working mom outfit, or something. Bleck.

    Jordyn’s outfit same thing. That top is just…bleck. Dude you’re on national television. Dress like a teenager, not a mom.

    Sorry. That was my rant on their outfits. Kyla looks gorgeous, so does McKayla, and Gabby looks cute but for whatever reason I think when you wear bright patterns on TV it doesn’t look as good. I think I read that somewhere too.

    • Catherine Says:

      I thought Aly’s dress had potential, but ended up being mehh. McKayla looked perfect, I love her dress. Kyla looked amazing, very well put together. Jordyn made herself look really boring and Gabby just looked like she was drowning in her clothes. She’s SO slight and short it must be tough though.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I thought they were all horrible except Kyla who looks like every other teenager which is exactly how she should look.

      Jordyn’s shirt was ugly, Gabby looked like a slob, Mckayla looked like she should be at a night club and I hate mesh and Aly looked like she wore her dads shirt though I admit the first time I saw it I thought it was kind of cute. Than I saw the top more closely and thought yuck.

      • Kazic Says:

        You’re so tough on them GTT lol. I thought they looked fine.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I say what I think. They alllook like super models compared the the ugly shit the 08 team used to wear if that makes you feel better:)

      • mim Says:

        kyla looked the best, mckayla looked okay albeit a bit dressy, jordyn looked fine but i agree- aly looked a bit strange in that dress and poor little gabby is so small her clothes look like they eat her. but they all get free passes from me because they’re only teens!

      • Kazic Says:

        I know GTT, I appreciate your honesty lol. Despite their fashion choices, they are a pretty attractive group of girls. No one of them is ugly imo.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      I thought gabbys outfit was cute but i didn’t think it was flattering on her tiny frame. Loved her shoes though.

  11. sanitynmotion Says:

    I read on Twitter Beth Tweddle is not retiring yet.

    Funny how Nastia is now very quiet on Twitter. Maybe she’s running around trying to get another fake relationship going on just in time for Sochi.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She already did that a few weeks ago when she started hanging with Evan again

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        And shes saving it for the tour. Watch her do a red carpet entrance as she enters the arena in every city they go to.

    • Guest Says:

      She will try to steal attention by making her face with Fab 5 in the coming spectacular tour.
      Evan looks having crush on old designer Vera Wang who is way more famous. I think the Russian cannot take adventage of him by trying to create fake relationship again.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I noticed how Nastia is all leeching on to McKayla now. Remember a few weeks ago it was Aly?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t follow Nastia EVER.I rely on you people to tell me when she is being an ass.:)

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah it’s all “ooh looking forward to see your beautiful face, I love you” blabla. I think Nastia’s “fame censor” went off, and she realised that cozying up to McKayla might get her some attention.

      • Guest Says:

        The poor Russian may realise that she cannot draw the sufficient public attention individually anymore (Felling her face on the floor is her last one). She can only leech on sombody who is in hot topic to emphasize her existence nowadays. We can expect who she will leech in Sochi. Maybe she will make use of her “former Russian” status to get some interviews from Russian media.

      • Kazic Says:

        Guest, you make me laugh, the way you won’t call Nastia by her name. You know, if you watch her Piers Morgan interview she actually seems bearable.

      • Guest Says:

        I like some Russian athletes such as Maria Sharapova, Yelena Isinbayeva. And I don’t have a dislike for the Russian gymnasts Komova and Mustafina in London. But a certain Russian who changed the Nationality tried to let Americans consider her as American and even America’s Sweetheart by the claim of agent. It really makes me sick.

      • Kazic Says:

        Actually Guest, she does have dual citizenship. So she didn’t really switch nationalities. I actually believe her when she says she considers herself American. She was two when she left Russia. Also, hers is a story that could only really happen in America. I think she is intelligent enough to realize that.

        What kills me is that the current Russian gymnasts always mention her as inspiration. Ugh. They töaly pretend she competed for them lol.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I don’t think Nastia has the fan favor that other gymnasts have (Nadia, Mary Lou, etc.) She comes off as a fake b*tch. What kept her “commercial” and “America’s sweetheart” – which she wasn’t – was her gymnastics. The longer she doesn’t do gymnastics (and now she’s no longer the most recent Olympic champ), the more forgettable she will be. I’m sure she will try to stay relevant in the sport via her FIG status and all, but on a national basis people have already forgot who Nastia was in the first place.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Nastia does not consider herself American After she won and she did her celebrity tweet crap it was all about Russians like that obnoxious blond tennis player. The one they keep trying to make it to the really pretty blond but she is not even close to being as pretty as Kornikova.

        Sorry but if you mean Nastia she does not give a shit about being American.

        The girls before Nastia were always all about representing the US and wearing red white and blue but Nastia was all about pink and she corrupted the current group

      • Kazic Says:

        Sanity, I actually think that in some interviews she comes off as very genuine, which just pisses me off because I know she’s a fake bitch lol.

        Like I have kind of mentioned before, I try to keep it all in perspective. I don’t think any of them (whether I like them or not) are all good or bad. Gymnasts are people too, so they have good sides and bad ones. I admired Nastia’s story and her abilities before she won in 08. After that, the fame ho’ monster swallowed her, and she seems desperate to retain her status.

      • Kazic Says:

        GTT if she doesn’t consider herself American, she’s a moron. But we: a. knew that already and b. didn’t want her anyway.

  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    Kyla is the only one not turning pro, and her twitter pic was her back in the gym today conditioning. I think I know of at least one additional private event for Kyla and her family but I can’t say more.

  13. Exgymgurl Says:

    Oh and GTT I think Kyla and McKayla will be back in 2012, I have to say Jordyns stress fracture and her lack of X-ray / true diagnosis bugs me. I want to hear the full medical report.

    • Guest Says:

      Kyla’s already been back in the gym. So has Aly according to twitter. Gabby’s not going to have the time to train. I’m just not sure Jordyn wants to train…I honestly think she might hang it up. World title, gold medal…really the only thing she covets is the Olympic individual all around gold and she realizes the odds of staying highly competitive in the sport for another four years are slim…to none. If she stays it’ll just be one more year I think.

      • Kazic Says:

        I really hope Jordyn sticks around for worlds next year. I need a Musty/Jo/Vika free for all in the AA.

        But other than that, yeah I think she’s on her way out. I think Aly’s a nut for saying she’ll try for Rio, but whatever. Kyla is the only one who has a real shot.

        Gabby will probably quit before rio. That kid better forget the Leotard and invest in a net. They’ll be throwing so much money at her that she’ll need one lol.

        MM may grow out of the sport. Just a hunch. Hope she lands a Maroney before she quits lol. Plus someone with an eye for awesome will give her her own show or something.

      • mim Says:

        aly is probably riding on her high from winning a few medals.. i wonder if she would be so determined if she had jordyn’s olympics experience. or maybe it’s the 4th in AA that’s pushing her.

        i wonder if mckayla would go down the commentating route. she’s so entertaining, maybe she could eventually replace that elfie (elfie? effie? whatever her name is) on nbc so you could get some decent commentary!

      • Kazic Says:

        If I were Aly, that tie breaker would piss me off. But let’s be real: she’s 18 now, and we have an incredibly deep roster of girls coming up. What are the odds of there being room on that team for a 22 year old? You only have to look at how many of the 08 squad was on this team to get an idea of how hard it is to do.

        If I were Jordyn I would want to stick around for worlds. That would be a real test of her talents.

      • Catherine Says:

        Is anyone seriously thinking of going to worlds? A GTT blog snarkfest would be awesome. I’m going anyway since it’s a 2 hour flight for me. It’s 6 hours from Boston AHEM, and 7 from New York (does that sound right??). Not bad..

      • mim Says:

        man i’d love to go to a major competition like worlds but unfortunately im on the other side of the world! at best for next year im hoping to get to the aussie national meet!

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Im going to see how the ticket prices look. I live in ny so prices to belgium are usually reasonable. The question is how much are the tics for the competition and where can you but them?

      • Catherine Says:

        http://www.antwerpgymnastics2013.com
        No word on prices yet, maybe €100 for one event?? Can’t be insane like London anyway. I’d imagine you can buy them off that website when they get it up and running. Nice schedule- event finals all weekend and women AA the friday.

      • Kazic Says:

        I have no current plans to go, but I am playing around with the idea of hitting Rio in 2016 ;) I actually know some people who live in the city, so I am thinking about trying to cop a couch :p

        As for worlds, not this year. Maybe 2014 when I have more disposable income lol.

    • tulip Says:

      Any chance Geddert would be brave enough to call Marta’s camps into question as part of a potential cause? How many times have we seen girls with stress fractures right before these major competitions?

      Doubtful but he does seem the most willing to push back, even if just a little.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Geddert’s probably been silenced. If he wants to assure Jordyn will make a future Worlds team or any of his future elite athletes to make a worlds team, he can’t cross Marta. He had a chance when he was the coach of the current world champion but now that Jordyn’s career was derailed and Marta’s favorites took over the “American darling” status he has no power in the game. He kind of approached the issue a bit when he said Jordyn sustained the fracture in one of the camps and even tried to make excuses for her; meanwhile, she was talking about how it didn’t hurt in warmups and all, so his point would be meaningless and he’d just look like a whiner (he probably already looks like a whiner because there were articles out there saying he should take the position of his athlete and not make excuses for her).

        He would look doubly bad making more excuses because McKayla had a broken toe and still stuck her vault in team finals.

        Now, if Team USA had not won gold and if none of the girls had made podium in the AA, he could totally come forward and make a point. Unfortunately, Marta is golden right now; nobody can touch her. Team USA brought home 3 of the 6 gold medals that were up for grabs (and it would have been an easy 4 of 6 if McKayla had done what she was capable of). So if Geddert were smart he’d just shut his mouth and continue on. He’s probably in blackball territory as it stands with what he was saying before the Games and even the excuses he was making during the Games. I am also pretty sure the FIG isn’t too happy with him right now either.

        Part of me though was hoping Team USA wouldn’t pull it off only because I wanted some fingers pointing in Marta’s direction. Now she really will be running that team until she croaks.

      • Kazic Says:

        I have already resigned myself to two facts: 1. We (USA) will be using a semi-centralized system for years to come and 2. We can get the program back from Marta when we pry it from her cold, dead, hands.

  14. Kel Says:

    I truly believe Jordyn was/is injured. She was icing that leg a lot in pics and definitely seemed in pain after her EF floor routine. She just wasn’t quite herself this whole Olympics (with the exception of her vault and floor in the team finals). I thought I read she would get an x-ray/MRI when she returned to Michigan. She just got back, so maybe we’ll hear something soon. If she really does have a stress fracture, then I would think she would miss the first part of the tour.

    • Kazic Says:

      She wasn’t herself at Olympic Trials IMO. You think it’s serious?

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Stress fracture in Jordyns shin hello!!! How many members of the 08 quad did that sideline? She pushed but honestly I’m surprised she was able to compete that’s painful ….I thought it was in her foot but on Letterman they said shin

      • Kel Says:

        It sounds like it all started at Trials with her heel bruise and then developed into a stress fracture in her shin. Haven’t heard about any results yet. I do think that definitely impacted her ability to perform, but I also think she hurt herself by not upgrading her difficulty. She pretty much has had the same routines for the past year…everyone else seemed to upgrade except for her. Well…I guess she tried to upgrade her beam but that was a flippin’ disaster! Unfortunately, I think she hit her peak in 2011. Would love to see all these girls for another Worlds cycle though!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Her beam is what really hurt her. What used to be one of her best events became one of her weakest. I kind if blame her coach for that. Her bars she upgraded her dismount and her floor was basically the same but she should have added that double layout she was working on. Anyways. It really was that beam routine that did her in. Thought geddert would change it back for the better.

        I think if jordyn really loves gymnastics shell be back at least for maybe another year. They all know that you can’t do gymnastics forever at that level and the window is so small. What ASac did was really a feat. I hope all if them come back if anything it would make things interesting. Gabby still needs to be put in her place lol. But if it were me and I were jordyn id really be back for redemption. I would be more angry than anything else.

        I still have a hard time that gabby made AA considering her floor routine at quals. Her mistake was much larger and should have been more costly than jos wobble on beam. Her d scores weren’t that much higher than jos were they?

      • Kazic Says:

        Kel I have the same fear. It will be hard to hold off a resurgent Mustafina next year.

      • Kel Says:

        I would actually love to see Gabby come back and NOT be successful. I think that would be poetic justice. I still don’t think she should have been in the AA final. That mistake on floor should have cost her more than it did. The D score she got on floor was a 5.8 in quals, Jordyn had a 6.0. What really separated them was the D score on beam…I think Gabby got a 6.5 on beam in quals and Jordyn a 6.0. Beam, beam, beam….I really liked Jordyn’s World beam routine. Why mess with something great? I agree that her coach should be blamed for that…her beam routine clearly wasn’t working for her. I hope she’s pissed enough to come back, but for some reason I have this feeling she isn’t coming back.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If I remember correctly Gabby missed two connections in prelims and still got the credit for the skills being connected.

      • Guest Says:

        I’m not sure winning worlds again is motivation for Jordyn….she’s already done that.

        The Wiebers are a level headed bunch (unlike say…the Bross clan) and they’ve worked hard to ensure Jordyn knows there is more to life than gymnastics. It’ll come down to her desire to continue and if she retires, she still had amazing career.

        PS – A bazillion people cheered her on at the parade today. Michigan is not known for producing Olympic gymnasts. She’s a rare talent here and will be revered for like ever.

      • Kel Says:

        Definitely…her D score shouldn’t have been a 6.5, but it was. Should have been more like a 6.2 or 6.3. I still love this sport, but it is way too subjective. How can you not play favorites?

        I think Jordyn will have a great life out of gymnastics…I would just like to see her come back and beat Gabby one more time :-)

      • Kazic Says:

        Kel you are right she shouldn’t hae been in aa. Even so, I am glad she was able to keep it together long enough to stick it to the Russians.

        Guest (lol) Jordyn is a competitor. Does she have a world title? Yes, but not while Mustafina was healthy. If I were her, that’s how I would want to end my career. The Weibers are very level headed, so regardless of what she chooses, she is the one I am probably the least worried about. She’ll be fine. Kills me that the world at large doesn’t know how great she is.

      • mim Says:

        a bit random but can anyone shed light on what bross’ family is like? keep reading that they’re very intense and pushed rebecca to go pro early on but other than that i have no idea.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I heard somewhere the father is a stage mom and if Becca had a bad practice they used to make her run home following the car but I don’t know if that was true or not.

      • JAS4 Says:

        That is crazy! Wonder if Marta ever did the same thing to Rebecca as they did Dom M. and tell her Dad when she was having a rough day at practice

      • Kazic Says:

        It always makes me sad because Bross strikes me as a sweet girl. Things just didn’t go her way.

  15. Guest Says:

    Xray was today I believe.

  16. sainabou nyang Says:

    I was thinking of the girls from the 2009-2012 quad who do you see oe who do you think will make an excellent gymnastics coach in 10 or 20 years? That is if they decide to go that route like Amanda Borden did.

    I think Chelsea, maybe even Jordyn or kyla.

    I know the evil russian plans to study sports medicine or whatever at nyu but I cant see her following in her fathers footsteps.

    • mim Says:

      i think nastia said she’s not patient enough to be a coach. but i think she’ll end up in some gymnastics figurehead position. as long as she’s not the next martha… *shudders at the thought*

      jordyn will get her taste of coaching at UCLA, but im curious if she’ll find satisfaction with that or if it will fuel her to make a comeback like ASac.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I think nastia is gunning for a job with fig.Nellie Kim better watch out. Much better than being us team coordinator.

      • Guest Says:

        I feel we will have to see her dumb ass face in the following years’ American Cup, Nationals, World Championships… She didn’t miss any chance of hunting exposure everytime.

      • Kazic Says:

        She did say that mim in her interview with Piers Morgan. Lord was that an uncomfortable interview. He was hitting on her. I felt bad! For Nastia! Anytime I feel anything but contempt for her, I feel as if I have betrayed my country lol. She isn’t going to go away. She’ll be a judge or something.

        I think Jo would make a great coach. If she can cheer for Gabby, she can make it through anything lol.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Guest dont forget about boring ass Nastia liukin cup. I still can’t believe she has an event named after her. I always wondered what strings wer pulled for that to happen.

      • Guest Says:

        I think just giving money to sponsor USAG can also make your name in some tournaments. I never heard some greats such as Nadia, MaryLou, Shannon will do something ass like this. She is just unabashed to keep her name alive in gymnastics world.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        USA-Gymnastics and the Fig suck. They insist on bringing her name into everything. I thought they knew what good gymnastics was and not the code whoring Nastia did.

      • Guest Says:

        She may realize that the mainstream media of US do not care her more so she tried all the means to beg for some ass-like positions of USAG/PIG so that she can hold her name in gymnastics world for a long time at least.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I wonder how long the Nastia Liukin name can last. In 10 years are people going to be drooling over Nastia. She’s no Marylou, Shannon, or Nadia.

        I wonder how long they will keep doing the Nastia Liukin cup? Nothing against the juniors competing but its not very exciting to watch.

      • Kazic Says:

        She won’t be remembered like Mary Lou (gag), but I think her name will be brough up around Olympic time every 4 years. Especially since we have dominated AA 3 Olympics in a row. You can’t mention that fact without saying Nastia’s name unfortunately.

      • Guest Says:

        Carly Petterson is also in the name of the rows of winner, but she has already been forgotten by the general public.

      • Kazic Says:

        Good point but IMO, she did less to try to stay in the public consciousness.

    • Gymbee Says:

      Sports medicine? I thought it was sports marketing.

      I think Jo will make a great coach! Isn’t she going to be an assistant coach or something at UCLA?

      • Kel Says:

        That’s what has been reported, but then she said in an interview that she has never visited the school but looks forward to visiting. She also said she would love to go to school outside of Michigan…definitely didn’t sound like anything had been decided yet.

      • mim Says:

        i think we’re mixing up nastia and jordyn! from what i’ve read, nastia is going to study sports marketing at NYU supposedly (i think she’s all talk but i think it would be good for her to go to college and broaden her world view and all that jazz), but jordyn wants to study sports medicine most likely at UCLA where she’ll be assistant coach.

  17. Guest Says:

    Find a photo of Gabby, Shawn and Lolo in Welcome Party in Iowa.
    Gabby’s jacket is hilarious…

  18. Gymbee Says:

    Btw, on the Colbert Report show does anyone know why was Jordyn’s, Gabby’s and Kyla’s mothers pretending to be asleep? I only saw the short clip of it on youtube, the actual link to it is region blocked.

    • Kazic Says:

      I think it was just meant to be a gag. You know, they show the moms to applaud them, and they are all utterly disinterested with what’s going on.

  19. Gymbee Says:

    Looks like Aly got an Olympic rings tattoo on her wrist. Watch on Letterman when she’s explaining about blocking on vault, timecode 2:34 on this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLOyGWusVHs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

