Cold war

Larissa Latynina is such a commie.lol actually the writer of the article is just funny but I love a good conspiracy theory:)

Then again, one of the leaked ad photos was with former Russian gymnast Larisa Latynina, the woman whose record for most Olympic medals Phelps broke in London. If we were still in Cold War mode, it’d be a legitimate possibility that she leaked them as part of a wide-ranging conspiracy to get back her record.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Aly has good taste. Tyler is cute.

Tags: ,

86 Responses to “Cold war”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I heard Larissa was pretty bummed her record was broken. Kind of crazy that a gymnast had it in the first place. The only athlete that could ever break this record really is a swimmer since they have the most opportunities to medal in one Olympics. It kind of sucks for the team sports.

    I’m so against the whole notion of stripping this guy’s medals for the sake of non-sponsor ads. So stupid. It’s all about money. It’s obviously OK to see Ryan Lochte et. al promote Visa but if someone happens to be promoting over-priced purses and the pictures leak that person could get stripped of their rightly-deserved medals.

    Just shows the Olympics isn’t about the essence of sport anymore. There’s all these bureaucratic rules to prohibit the “truly” best from competing against each other. I am not just talking about the gymnastics stuff, BTW. But then again I guess the Olympics wouldn’t happen if it weren’t for money from sponsors. Bleh.

    I’m going to change the subject for a second, since we can talk about Phelps now. :) Anyone see his current girlfriend? Show of hands, who thinks she’d even look at this guy TWICE if he weren’t “Mike Phelps?” I know, I know, can’t blame him for using his status to lay stakes on a hot girl but I have to laugh internally.

  2. Biyatch Says:

    Apparently Ryan Seacrest is trying to hook Aly up with a Jonas brother: http://fitperez.com/2012-08-17-joe-jonas-responded-to-aly-raisman-date-request?from=PHheadline

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I hope she doesn’t use that robot voice on him…

      • mim Says:

        dont do jonas, aly! if you believe gossip, one is married but gay, one is on a one-way path to rehab, and, well, i’ve heard nothing too bad about the youngest but if he is sticking to his purity pledge that’s just not fun.

        seriously. she could do so much better.

      • Dee Says:

        LOL to the purity pledge being no fun hahahaha

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      No, no and no. Those little punks break hearts left and right and they are f***** Yankee fans. Aly has better taste that that. Tyler is a Bruin, he’s one of their best players and getting better and he is a Stanley Cup Champion and he is local. Tyler is the guy

      • Guest Says:

        Word. Tyler is the much better option.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I hate the Jonas brothers but I looked up that Tyler dude as well and he’s a total player. All sports dudes are though.

  3. JAS4 Says:

    GTT you could totally do a blog on gymnastics conspiracy theories I love conspiracy theories lol

  4. Catherine Says:

    If anyone’s bored, I’m doing a very brief rundown with videos of upcoming seniors, by country. USA, Russia, Romania and China are done. Western Europe coming up later today (some treasures appearing from there, very exciting..) and then Eastern Europe and elsewhere is the last one..tomorrow maybe!

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Catherine what’s your website blog? I’m totally bored. LOL. Not bored just suffering through withdrawal! And I could use an update on upcoming US seniors…the only ones that come to mind are Priessman and Ohashi…

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      If anyone is looking for a little nostalgia, I found an old Gymnastics movie called Reach for the stars. Its a cheesy movie but cute for the littl ones to watxh.

      Ive been trying to find videos of rising stars for Brazil but no luck. I was trying to find videos from pan American games but the videos are scarce.

      Catherine I’ve been reading your recent blogs and I’m excited to see all the upcoming talent.

      Looking forward to the new code of points being finalized later this year. It will make for interesting talk on this blog.

      • Catherine Says:

        It’s my favourite gymnastics film. It also gets respect for being more realistic than most..

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I found it on you tube. Couldnt believe it. That Corina was so adorable. I liked that movie much better than the Nadia Comanech movie with the bad acting.

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    Speaking of cold war. I’m behind on the event finals of the Olympics. I just watched the floor routines, so now I guess I’m “caught up” even though the Olympics are over. So sad about that.

    Anyways, anyone notice that Aly and Jordy were rather cold to each other? When Aly realized for sure she had won the gold, Jordyn came over and just briefly hugged her and said “congratulations” before heading off. I’m sorry, but two supposedly “best friends” don’t treat each other that way, even if you are kind of competitors and all. I mean look at how Mustafina interacted with Komova during the AA final (and throughout these games); she stayed with her, hugged her, even kissed her cheeks and you could just tell she really gets along with her even though technically they compete against each other. There’s such a difference.

    Something totally went down b/t Aly and Jordyn these Games. I have a feeling.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Aly talked about how she could not enjoy making the AA because everyone kept saying she took Jordyns spot when in reality it was Gabby who took Jordyn’s spot thanks to overscoring.

      My impression is that this is all on Aly. Jordyn kept tweeting stuff about how proud she was of Aly and Aly said nothing.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I got the same impression it seemed like Aly was the one not being as friendly towards Jordyn and I understand her being upset because she wasn’t getting positive attention for making the AA but I would have thought she would have been more upset that her best friend was robbed because Gabby was over scored and Jordyn was underscored but I guess maybe she had been in Jordyn’s shadow for so long and then when it was her chance the media blamed her for Jordyn not making AA instead of Gabby but still that’s not Jordyn’s fault but who knows what’s really going on lol we need some insider info from someone who knows the team lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think they will be fine. When they tour together for 3 months I am sure things will get back to normal.

        If Aly has an issue she needs to get over it. It is not Jordyn’s fault what the media said and it seemed like Jordyn bent over backwards to be nice to Aly. In fact Aly should have supported Jordyn she was the team leader she needed to act like it

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I agree they are teenage girls I think they will work things out being on tour together I really hope being on the tour and taking some time off will make Jordyn want to comeback I also wonder if Aly will stop training bars like Alicia or try to improve them if she had her same difficulty on the other three events and really improved her bars I think she could have a good chance for a World AA Medal next year but I would really like to see Kyla upgrade I think she could do really well in the AA and EFs and since the Amanar is being devalued she may be just fine with her DTY if she upgrades everything else I think Kyla is capable of doing more difficult bars and beam easily and I’d like to see her with a floor SV of at least a 6.0 and McKayla needs to do the TTY and I could see Gabby just doing bars and beam or just bars at Worlds if she isn’t still on the fame train

      • JAS4 Says:

        I would also like to see Jordyn learn a second vault because she could potentially medal there with a second vault she might not beat McKayla but I think she could definitely get silver or bronze if she could do a clean Amanar and a clean second vault like maybe the FHS Rudi or something I would also like to see her upgrade on bars and floor and get a new beam routine that works for her

      • Kazic Says:

        I think GTT is right, they’ll patch it up over the tour. I too heard Aly was a bit upset at how everything ended up being percieved. I don’t think it’s fair to blame Jordyn though. Aly still gets my award for nicest competitor ever lol.

        What I find interesting is that Aly and Mckayla seem to be pretty close. They talk on twitter all the time about how much they miss each other and how much Aly misses MM’s little sister. They honestly seem closer currently than Jo and Aly.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I always thought that myself and than they said it was Jordyn and Aly who were closest. I guess it makes sense because my real friends and I don’t have to talk over twitter because we talk off of twitter.

        I always got the impression that Aly went and hugged the Russians because they made a big deal of saying the US gymnasts weren’t friendly (I think it was Komova )

        Watching this play out it came across as Aly having the issue not Jordyn.

      • Kazic Says:

        Despite what has been publicly stated GTT, I am going to go with my gut and say that Aly and MM are closer. Jo seems to have a lot of “normal” friends. I think they are the ones that help keep her so grounded.

        I don’t know why Aly went to the trouble of hugging the Russians, but that’s not why I was calling her nice. She’s done a thousand little things all through the Games that showed her good sportsmanship. My favorite was the run-in she has with Musty after her floor. Aliya recently gave an interview on Russian radio (which I had the Russian in my house translate for me) in which she was asked about the American team. She didn’t like that Maroney didn’t hug Paseka on the Podium, but went out of her way to say that Aly was a really nice, sweet girl, and she liked her a lot.

        I didn’t know we had been accused of being unfriendly. I think Aly has gone a long way in dispelling that feeling among the Russians though. She seems to be one the more favorably looked at americans after this Games.

        I understand Aly’s hurt, but I think she misplaced the blame. Jordyn wasn’t at fault, and I can’t imagine what it was like for her to have to go to that competition, not competing, and cheer for her team-mates.

    • mim Says:

      aw, they genuinely seemed like good friends not just teammates before the olympics. i agree, it sucks for jordyn obviously that she didn’t get into AA (because of gabby being overscored) and it sucks for aly that the media harped on about her “taking” jordyn’s spot when she’s worked her ass off for years (and because of gabby being overscored).. hope these two can resolve their tension if that’s the case!

      jordyn seems so chill and friendly (surprisingly so for a teenage girl), i just can’t imagine her being the kind of girl to start drama.

      • Guest Says:

        It was totally noticeable during floor finals. Aly was uncharacteristically bitchy to Jo.

        Aly did tweet a cute “best roomie ever” pic the night of closing ceremonies. Other than that she has completely blown Jo off. McKayla is the glue trying to hold them together at this point it seems.

        The tour could be interesting.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I don’t think anything dramatic went down. I don’t think Jordyn is the type to want to be drowned in hugs and kisses when she doesn’t do as good as she hopes (or when she does), and Aly said something like “you wouldn’t want to be treated differently”. John Gedder wrote that Jordyn goes into her little shell and stays there until she’s ready to come out.
        Aly seems sweet, as does Jordyn. And Aly didn’t celebrate excessively after her floor gold.
        Add to that, they are 17 and 18, away from their homes for over a month, and they were tired at that point.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Also we don’t know how they are privately. They could be calling each other every day for all we know. Can’t always take twitter as the holy truth, whether it’s good or bad :)

      • Guest Says:

        I think it started right after Team Finals. The following day they were interviewed by Access Hollywood and Jordyn mentioned how McKayla gave her a pep talk. The interviewer asked McKayla what was said…and you could see the panic on her face (and Jordyn’s). McKayla recovered quickly and said that “it was between them.” It was an awkward moment and you could see Aly and Gabby standing there like wtf as well.

        I think we can conclude that McKayla probably told Jo she was the best gymnast ever, blah, blah. Aly was probably like, “scoreboard!” and this thing got a little out of hand as things usually do with teenage girls.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Eh, I don’t think we can conclude anything from that. We can guess though :)

  6. mim Says:

    in other random news, mckayla is now signed with william morris endeavour. smart move, she’s got star quality (here’s a link to the article: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2191262/McKayla-Maroneys-family-reveal-FEAR-safety-amid-torrent-marriage-proposals–allow-glimpse-16-year-old-gymnasts-life-London-fame.html)

    • catherine Says:

      Lol its funny how obsessed the daily fail is with her, this is probably article number 6. The comments always have people saying ‘this is a British paper’ also…

      • Gymbee Says:

        Hahaha I know! And as usual it’s very well researched! Caption of the photo with Galina in the middle and photos of Artur and McKayla on the sides:

        Bragging rights: Inside the All Olympia Gymnastics Center in Playa Vista, pictures of McKayla adorn the lobby walls alongside framed photos of other legendary gymnasts, including McKayla’s gym coach, Galina Marinova (pictured)

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Yeah but I’m glad her mother is being cautious with her safety. But she needs to tell her to be careful what pics she puts online. Pictures of hee showing her stomach or with her chest nearly exposed are not helping.

      • mim Says:

        i agree sainabou but try explaining that to snap happy teenagers!

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Mims thank god I don’t have kids lol.
        I’d be freaked out by all the pervs hounding my daughter.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I actually think Aly Raisman has really pretty features too – to me, she can be even prettier than McKayla. But McKayla has that narrow lean body for modeling.

        Should be interesting if she decides to stay and go for Rio, whether or not her body will fail her. She still needs to hit puberty obviously and a lot can happen in four years. I hope she continues on because I think she’s got some great potential for the other apparatuses, not just vault.

        I wonder why that female coach didn’t go with her to the Olympics. That Akopian guy (forgot how to spell his name) comes off all creepy. I heard from someone who used to work at their gym (AOGC) that he is a total jerk.

        I also can’t help but wonder if Mattie Larson hadn’t fallen on floor in 2010 and if she continued with the elite program – she would have been a total media sensation as well (she’s definitely got the model looks going for her). It’s so sad though these days that there are so many pervs out there. I guess I can’t blame any of the parents of these gymnasts given what happened to Shawn Johnson.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I remember Matties fall on fx at worlds. She’sa pretty girl but if she was this team I definitely think the vibe would have been different.

        With all the talk of which girls will continue, what gym will dominate in the next quad and crank out more stars.
        Will this be the last time we see John Geddert? Will Woga have another Rebecca bross moment with Katelyn? I think chow will have another star gymnast for rio.

      • Guest Says:

        I think WOGA will have another Rebecca Bross moment with Rebecca Bross herself. Girl doesn’t know when to quit and hasn’t been prepared by her family to do anything but gymnastics.

        Not sure on Geddert. I know that he’s obviously been getting lots of inquiries from gymnasts in the midwest with aspirations of being elite….but so are Chow and Brestyan. Just never know when a Gabby Douglas is going to call you up, I guess.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Should be interesting to see if these coaches show up with another “it American girl.” I feel like Maroney and possibly Aly will be back for sure trying out for Rio. I have another feeling that Gage might be represented (I love their gymnasts but am not sure of Al Fong himself). I like Ohashi some but I feel like she might not live up to her hype. Is Bross still at it? I’m very iffy with her. I hated her gymnastics but I want her to end her career better than it did. I am wondering if Valerie makes his gymnasts peak too soon.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Sanity i think this might be the gage era or parkettes possibly in the next quad too. Its gonna be batlle of the gyms. If im al fong im thinking its time for gage to have its moment. But does anyone thing Ebee price has peaked. Sarah i think its just the beginning like kyla.

        Funny everytime I think of al fong i think if Julissa gomez.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Price was good but I don’t think she’ll have what the 2016 team will need…unless she can really up her beam/bars. She has a good amanar but so does nearly everyone else. Her floor needed improvement from what I recall.

        I would love to see Finnegan go to the Olympics. She’s a beautiful gymnast and I love her presentation. I haven’t come across a Gage gymnast that doesn’t have artistry. Aly Raisman actually should split her time there; might work wonders hahaha. Gage gymnasts have yet to be impressive on bars though (except their 2004 gymnasts) – I remember their release moves always being relatively low.

        I don’t know much about Parkettes except that one documentary posted on here a long time ago. I’m not really a fan after I saw that. I’m not a fan of WOGA either though.

        Seems like the major gyms change a bit every cycle. Although this time around, both Brestyan and Chow got to come back. That was cool. I wonder if Chow will have other elites in the future. I really don’t think Gabby will come back. I don’t see her going back to serious mode and wanting to be in the gym every day when there are sponsors knocking down her door throwing money in her face. Just look at Shawn Johnson, who I swear lied to us all and just up and quit because she couldn’t resist the temptation of another DWTS. Bleck.

        I hope Kyla Ross can stay in shape and form. She’s got the goods.

      • Aerial Says:

        I’m surprised that people are only talking about Rio, and not whether these girls will even be at Worlds the next two years at most. Maybe because we just closed out an Olympics, but especially for these new millionaires with all these other opportunities looming, it never occurred to me to think beyond next year, or maybe 2014 if next year ends up being a ‘lost’ year following tour and other opportunities. As as has been mentioned, if any really strike it big with their agents, it would really take a lot of work and deep love for the sport to stop everything and return to big-time training later on. We’ll see… as the trends show, such comebacks are usually toward the end of the quad with a great race to make the team. Didn’t go so well for our former Olympians and world medalists this year.

      • Guest Says:

        I agree that Gage will likely be represented next go round. Parkettes…ugh. The Strauss’ are evil and I hope they never see an Olympic venue again.

        They’ll probably be some new representation next go round. Maybe Kim Zmeskal will bust out some amazing gymnast, much to WOGAs chagrin. Lol.

        The other gym to keep an eye on is Cincinnati.

      • Catherine Says:

        Yes gage have two, Sarah and Maddie are both great on floor but Sarah has the edge because Maddie’s beam is suprisingly crap. It’s a bit of a mix, because the gyms with the best gymnasts (gage and woga-ohashi aside) are all a bit random..Bannon’s, Cincinnatti, Texas Dreams and another one I forget…

  7. Guest Says:

    Oh snap, the Fierce Five will be presenting at the VMA’s too! Will this be the epic Bieber meeting? Stay tuned folks.

    http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1692158/2012-video-music-awards-taylor-swift-performance.jhtml

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Hmm I don’t remember Shawn or Nastia being invited to the VMA’s in 08.

      I wonder if Gabby or Mckayla will do the Dougie.

    • Guest Says:

      Yes…Nastia and Dom Moceanu are probably bitching out their agents right about now.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Hahaha yep, they will probably try to get in there! At least poor Nastia has her hair-care thing.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Imagine if the 08 girls had won gold how different things would be.

        And if we win Gold again in Rio..

        Btw has anyone heard that Istanbul is a strong contender for the 2020 summer Olympic?

      • Catherine Says:

        Tokyo is the favourite. It better NOT be Madrid, they’re so screwed economically.

      • Kazic Says:

        They will win gold Saina…in about 10 years when China gets stripped of their medals for having underage girls on the 08 team.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I really think China cheated in Beijing, but I think FIG/USOC/etc. are turning their heads in the other direction on this one because they were the host city. I mean, if China cheated in other Olys there’s no way they wouldn’t cheat on their own turf. They “had” to win this one and they would pull out all the stops to do so.

        Part of me thinks they “turned in” their 2000 medals so that the 2008 medals could stay with them. Tit for tat kind of thing. They totally cheated but I don’t think those particular ’08 medals will be stripped.

        Even if they were, it really sucks for the athletes/team that “should have” won since they never got their time on the podium.

      • Kazic Says:

        I think it will eventually come out after the embarassment for them is at a low point. Right now it would still be a big deal. 3-4 Olympics later…no so much.

  8. sanitynmotion Says:

    If the girls had won in Beijing I think ASac could have been more of a star. She had the personality and looks. But her epic fail moments didn’t help her. I’m still kind of mad that she didn’t get a medal for her vaults when Fei sat down her second one and Chuso (even though I love her) had horrible form. The Korean girl had awful form too but she landed both of hers and they were difficult. I am glad they are changing the code there. I’ve always been a proponent of if you fall on your a$$, you shouldn’t medal. Sorry McKayla. You might be the best vaulter in the world but you weren’t during the 25 seconds or so when it mattered most.

    • Guest Says:

      I totally agree with you on this. If you can’t put your vaults to your feet, then you shouldn’t be in medal contention. In vault that should be a base requirement.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know it irks the crap out of me. If you step out of bounds on floor or fall off beam/bars you’re out of medal contention automatically. But you can sit down one of your vaults and still medal? I just don’t get it. It makes absolutely no sense. A fall is the largest mistake you can make on vault (besides running to the horse and touching it and getting a big fat 0.0) and the fact that if McKayla hadn’t stepped out of bounds on her first vault she’d be the gold medal winner despite sitting down on her a$$ on her second vault just makes me want to scream “ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!”

        Obviously the code is wrong. I wish there were a way for computers to decide on the scoring of gymnastics and make it more objective. That’s a completely different topic though.

      • Catherine Says:

        Nah, I’m of the opinion that if someone falls and medals it’s too bad that the others didn’t have the difficulty and execution to boot her out of medals. If someone losing an 0.5 automatically (when averaged) isn’t enough to throw them out of medals, then it reflectes badly on the quality of the rest of the competition.

      • Aerial Says:

        I’m in agreement with you on that one, Catherine…. unless they change the deduction amount for a fall.

      • Catherine Says:

        What they’re doing next quad is placing huge emphasis on execution. The d-scores of both vaults are added, 10 is added and the the result is divided by two. This result has the total deductions from the scores of both vaults taken away from it. This system would have put McKayla into 4th place..still an impressive finish, and Cheng Fei into fifth (don’t quote me on that, could have been 4th but I think it’s 5th). Anyway, this will most likely be the end of ‘medal with a fall’ UNLESS someone flings a Produnova and TTY or somesuch.

  9. sanitynmotion Says:

    Oh as for 2020 Olympics I think it comes down to Istanbul, Madrid, or Tokyo. I hope for Istanbul because that would be really cool. I don’t know how Tokyo has the money to do it after Fukushima. The US didn’t even bid because we don’t have the money. I heard Rome bid but pulled out (good decision).

    I think Russia will be coming for vengeance in Rio. I have a feeling both Mustafina and Komova will be staying with the program. With the code changes the US will really need some good bar workers.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      Istanbul would be awesome. Spain with its economic situationI don’t think they can afford it. USA shouldnt even bother bidding for another Olympics. If so it should be in LA.

      I’ve been reading catherines blog on the new quad and I agree Russia is coming back with a vengeance.

      Whats interested about the new codes is that Russia was a big contributor so no surprise that floor is being boosted.

      • mim Says:

        im hoping for istanbul out of the cities listed.

        there’s talk in australia that melbourne wants to bid for the next round of bidding (im guessing 2024?)… fingers crossed for us, i attended the sydney games and had the best time, it had such a great atmosphere. obviously not a good time for gymnastics then though but i wasnt hugely into it back then and only found out about all the mistakes later.

    • Guest Says:

      The USOC didn’t place an official bid, but didn’t Vegas pull some shenanigans and submit a bid of their own without USOC approval? Like that city can afford it.

      I did chuckle about the thought process…did they think they could just sneak it by?

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Las Vegas that’s even worse than thrm having it in NY. I always thought LA was a good city for the summer games because its spread out and they dont really have to build many sport complexes. NY logistically would not work plus we have idiots for politicians in our state.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yep, Las Vegas tried to squeak a bid in without going through all of the red tape so they got the big middle finger from USOC and their bid was cancelled. I can’t help but think having a sports event like the Olympics at a place like Las Vegas would be the WORST. IDEA. EVER. Especially with younger athletes that get easily sidetracked by glitz and glamour. And then you’d have Ryan Lochte hiring as many prostitutes as his room could fit.

        I mean, the few sporting events I’ve been to in Vegas have been nothing but an out-of-control boozefest. It’s Vegas. Seriously, it gets into you. I mean, I was in my early 20’s so fine. But yeah, we stayed out until like 3 a.m. and then got in a pool a few hours later, reeking of alcohol. Not our finest moments.

        Los Angeles has hosted the Olympic Games twice in the past and yeah – it wouldn’t necessarily mean more complexes would have to be built but a lot of infrastructure would have to be improved. The State of California is basically bankrupt and LA is even in a worse hole financially so I don’t see an Olympics coming here anytime soon. Chicago was the last city to submit a bid (for 2012 and 2016, I think) and the state of Illinois is right up there with the state of California in rankings of “most likely to claim BK first in the US of A.” And in terms of dip-shit politicians, California I think outdoes New York, hahahaha. Or maybe they’re pretty much the same. Remember we have Nancy Pelosi as one of our claims to fame, and Jerry Brown is our governor. Last time he was governor CA went BK. I guess CA voters have really bad memory problems. Or they’re all just dipshits. Probably a mixture of both. I’m a Californian so I can say this.

      • Catherine Says:

        Why doesn’t Vegas have the money? Is it Nevada as a whole pulling it down or what? I was in Vegas and the amount of money in the place..unreal. Not the best idea I agree, too distracting- and really really hot, wouldn’t want to be in track and field!

        There’s lots of jokes going around about how my local city, Dublin (Ireland, not Cali!) should host it, which is hilariously laughable. No money, no infrastructure, no facilities…aghh…

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Vegas is full of glitz and glamour (or at least the Strip is) but in reality that area is mostly owned by rich investors – so the City/government per se has no money, but people that invested/bought up the properties along the Stip definitely do. It’s all basically owned by Caesar’s Entertainment, MGM Resorts, Steve Wynn – those are the major three. They are all major corporations owned by stock holders that wouldn’t necessarily have to give a dime to something like the Olympics unless they were sponsors. Gawd, can you imagine what THOSE ads would look like?

        Outside of The Strip though you’d be amazed. It’s a really depressed economy. The unemployment rate is sky high and most of the locals, or residents, are on some type of government assistance. It’s sickening when you compare that to what the Strip is all about. It’s literally two different worlds.

        In any event, I’d much rather see an Olympics based in Dublin hahaha…probably much more beautiful and green over there. Back in the “day” I’m sure – when the Olympics weren’t so commercial (I’m thinking like back in the Roman age), the quality of facilities was not even a consideration! I’m sure those swimming pools (or rather, lakes) did not have lane lines and chlorine!

      • JAS4 Says:

        I would love for somewhere in SC to host an Olympics but I don’t think anywhere in SC has enough money to pull it off lol

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Also with Nevada there isnt much industry except for casinos and hospitality. Nevada has one of the highest unemployment rates.

        What about Salt Lake city to hold the summer games? They had the winter games.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        In the US I think San Diego would be a really nice location for the Summer Games. Not too hot during the summer and hey – can’t beat the surroundings/landscape.

        Another good option I would think would be Denver, CO – for summer or winter. If Florida weren’t so hot/humid that’d be a good place too. Maybe Orlando or Tampa or something like that.

        Salt Lake City was OK…but I think it’s done its thing. A “new” city would be cool. I like the idea of Istanbul. Or maybe Bora Bora LOL.

      • Aerial Says:

        The party would REALLY never stop if they were in Vegas!

        I’m still waiting on Toronto… that would be fabulous! Great access to water, as well, and Kingston not too far away for further water/land events… was used for the Montreal Games which is hours further than from Toronto.

      • Kazic Says:

        I’d like for there to be a Games in the States, now that I am old enough to go. But regardless of where, sooner or later I am just going to show up at one lol. I really want one in Japan, because it’s on my list of places to go anyway.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Hmm I didn’t consider Toronto, but it is another good choice along with lake placid/lake George/Adirondack region.

      • Catherine Says:

        Thank you sanity, that makes a lot of sense. I did actually see outside of the strip as I was got ill and had to go further afield…it definitely looked seedy alright.

        Dublin would be (if it had everything in place) much like London, more chance of rain though..but yeah, nice and green and if it hit 85 fahrenheit at any point, it would make the news. (LITERALLY make the NATIONAL news). We do have one awesome stadium, and a place for diving. Lol that’s it, but we are more financially secure than Spain- would hate to see them host 2020 because of the damage it would do to them. Yes we should have hosted it back in the day, like in the 1940’s as we weren’t even IN the war so no damage..

    • elitefan Says:

      I vote Istanbul for 2020…I’ll be a doctor by then so could potentially actually get tickets, plus I have a free place to stay there :)

      • Guest Says:

        Istanbul is still Mslim country though she is more open than others like Iran or Afghanistan. If Turkey suceed to host it, I think the sex activities in Olympic Village would be prohibited due to the Mslim creed. Most of the athletes may not be able to endure it.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah but what goes on in the Olympic village is pretty much closed off to the public eye, right? You have a point with the Muslim religion – could be interesting for beach volleyball, haha – but they might just “accept” other cultures for the sake of the Olympics. Who knows. If that’s the case though then it could very well be awarded to Tokyo or Madrid – frankly neither of those countries are in a good financial position.

      • Kazic Says:

        Turkey is probably the best Muslim country you could pick for a Games. They are pretty secular, and they keep it that way because they want to get into the EU. Though I wonder how they are feeling about that now, considering Greece is about to go broke. Anyway, I don’t forsee too many muslim rules, because they as a nation are anxious to show off how forward thinking they are.

        Also going with this theme the IOC seems to have recently (giving the games to places that have never had it before), a Games in a muslim country would be right in line. I’d be ok with A Turkey or Tokyo games.

  10. sainabou nyang Says:

    Just found out nationals will be in Hartford. I think Ill try to go since its only a few hours north of me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

